December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drop Down

by Me4502 - Jam Entry

Note: This game requires OpenGL 2.0, most computers should support it, some very ancient ones or cheap ones may not.

Hi all,

Made this game with a few friends. Hope everyone enjoys it, we enjoyed making it. (And are about to enjoy sleeping)

We used the theme of 'You only have one' in this game by only giving the player one life as such, and only giving them one of each weapon. Once they lose the weapon they lose it forever.

The idea of the game is that weapons have 'health' (durability) instead of the player. Once you've lost your weapons you lose your one and only life.

Credits:

Us:
Code, Me4502 (http://me4502.com)
Textures and Maps, Jelfius
Textures, Jkenw7 (http://jkenw7.deviantart.com)

External Sources:
Background music by 'pheonton', from http://opengameart.org/content/rescue
Boar death sound by 'VWolfdog' from http://opengameart.org/content/orc-dying-sound-effect
Crossbow Shot sound by 'HolgiB' from http://opengameart.org/content/crossbow-sounds
Sword Stab sound by 'The Berklee College of Music' from http://opengameart.org/content/knife-sharpening-slice-1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#185Audio(Jam)3.14
#330Theme(Jam)2.59
#333Humor(Jam)2.10
#362Graphics(Jam)2.86
#383Mood(Jam)2.58
#430Overall(Jam)2.68
#481Fun(Jam)2.19
#484Innovation(Jam)2.21

Comments

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:27am

Hey I get this error in Ubuntu 12.04

Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: no uniform with name 'ambientColor' in shader
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.ShaderProgram.fetchUniformLocation(ShaderProgram.java:293)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.ShaderProgram.fetchUniformLocation(ShaderProgram.java:283)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.ShaderProgram.setUniformf(ShaderProgram.java:445)
at com.me4502.LudumDare28.LudumDareGame.create(LudumDareGame.java:161)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:136)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

Hope you can fix it :)

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28am

Currently closes as soon as I open it. I'll come back later to see if you've fixed it :)

Me4502 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

Thanks for the report, I believe I've fixed it, but I don't have a linux machine to test it.

Ludusamo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:39am

It is still broken on Ubuntu as of right now for me as well.

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45am

The game ain't working.

Me4502 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

To everyone saying it isn't working, what OS?
If it's Ubuntu, try the download again, I slightly tweaked a shader.

flatgub says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13am

It's an interesting concept but the moment was sluggish and rigid, and if you fired backwards with the crossbow the bolt came from the wrong spot. If those issues were fixed, it'd be a fun game!
-Flatgub

Me4502 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

Thanks, what kind of hardware do you have? It could be low FPS causing the sluggish movement.
And the crossbow issue I was partway through fixing, but ran out of time. It was *much* worse :P

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:20am

Great Art and lighting effects! I didn't make it very far through though. The controls were a little too hard for me to juggle(like crouch to jump while moving right). I'm using Windows and it ran great for me.

Me4502 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21am

Thanks! I've been testing with windows and so have my friends, which is probably why it runs fine on windows.
With the controls, I found with the current ones to get part bits where you need to crouch jump, that you should go as close to the edge as possible.. I didn't have time to implement a better controls system.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24am

I liked the implementation of the theme as well as the general game play. However, the controls, especially the crouch jump (requiring you to move and crouch and jump at the same time) were a little hard to pull off, although this could have been on purpose. I also did not figure out what the 3rd weapon did, although it looked like a camera?

Me4502 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

The third weapon is a lamp. You use the mouse cursor to aim it, and it lights up infront of you.

The controls were a little odd, but didn't have time to fix it as they were tolerable.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

Nice feature with sword rotation. but story is bored

Me4502 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59am

It wasn't really supposed to be a story focused game, but more of a dungeon adventure game.

Rynig says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04am

I didn't continue very far due to how sluggish the game was, but I did find the stabbing animation particularly hilarious depending on the angle.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10am

good job but i dont enjoy

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

Quite nice! I enjoyed playing it. Also cool to see another Java platformer. ;)

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31am

Nice platformer, although I agree that the sneakjump is a pretty frustrating combo. That boarman death sound is awesomely disturbing :)

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34pm

nice job, my kind of graphics :P

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54pm

great gfx and music choice, good atmosphere too.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:29am

This game had me until I had to do the super-jumps (plus I lost shortly thereafter, so many boarmen!) - it is really hard to have to hold down, left or right, and then hit up while holding those down. It's very uncomfortable. I felt like the pace was a bit too slow when I was crouching too, and it felt like I had to crouch way more than I should have - like it was just strewn about since it was a mechanic.

Other than that it was fun. It was hilarious attacking people while running away due to my arm being flopped over my shoulder, I loved that!

Me4502 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:17am

Thanks for the feedback everyone :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]