December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO Mom!

by Coblynau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

That's right; love her or hate her, you only get one mom. She cleans up your mess, and for what? Twenty years later you're off with another woman! Mom's of the world, we salute you.

I did not set my ambitions high; this is my first game jam and I wanted to make something I knew I'd get done. I'm also suffering this week with illness. I'm not going to win an award but at least I can say I did it and gain insight from others.

YOGO Mom! is a simple game where you are set against the clock to clean up the mess left behind after a LD48 event by your indie dev husband or child.

... and it complies with the #NOKILL side quest. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#188Humor3.10
#305Audio2.87
#329Theme3.18
#414Graphics3.09
#438Mood2.85
#559Overall2.94
#591Fun2.73
#825Innovation2.34

Comments

gnerkus says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I'm sorry to hear about your illness. I admire your courage for completing your first Ludumdare. This edition's my first too.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21am

It's a bit hard to see if there is any difference in gameplay when you catch a coffee/flower/trash, but everything else is fine :-)

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22am

That was quite good! Good job overall!

Graphics were my favourite bit. Worked quite well. Would've been cool to have a few kitchen furniture obstacles in the middle though.

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24am

Loved the pixel art and the sound effects. Nice theme tune too!

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26am

Really like the idea. As you said, simple game, but a lot of fun :) Love the SFX and music!
Keep up the good work.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29am

Grats on completing a game. :D I like the graphics.

jedt1201 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49am

Well done considering you're ill plus this is your fist game jam

About the game. First, I love the message of the game. the game play is fun and with a sense of humor. I like that you chose the #nokill sidequest because the kids would love playing this. Animation and the consistency of the pixel art is well done.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Thanks for all the feedback so far, and the well wishes. The good news is that I should be better in a few days; and it's your feedback that matters more to me than winning, so I appreciate the time you've taken to try my game out. :)

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Awesome game, awesome message it pass :P. The pixel art is very solid, the audio too. Great how you made every object with it's own collect sound.
my best score was 14, 11, 13, heh

Cell says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Really enjoyed it, keep rocking :)

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

good first entry, congratulations for finishing it

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13pm

It was fun to explore what the different items do. I somehow expected the coffee to give movementspeed instead of a time bonus ;) Graphics are nice and consistent.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Great use of theme! Not to mention the art and sound really caught my attention. Didn't really noe what I was collecting at first though.

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50pm

I love the sound of little footsteps. :) That's a solid entry, good job.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Oh man, I hope that's pet poop appearing on the kitchen floor, and not indie dev poop! I would have liked the different types of objects to have consistent lifetimes, so I could learn what would stay out for a while, and what would be removed right away.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Hope you feel better! Great idea, always good to remember how awesome Mother's are :) Got a 97 on my first try!

Red Mike says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Really good first entry! I liked the art, though I had a bit of trouble figuring out what everything was first. Looking forward to seeing your future entries!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I think this is great. I've started it up again to listen to that menu music! It's great. I also like the sounds when you pick up the different objects. This is fun, all round a good game and a great effort.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice game! The pixel art is lovely and I enjoyed collecting all those different items. Great idea too. Good work! :)

Solluxx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Haha love your take on the theme. Nice job for just a day. Feel better soon. And nice job with the #NOKILL

Spierek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Nice graphics and a fun take on the theme! Good job :D

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Lol, you even did the side quest #NOKILL. Looks good for your first Ludum Dare. More complete than mine. :)

d__adee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

It's good. I like the pixel arts. And the YOGO mom idea is really nice. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49pm

It's like my mom.
YOGO mom is real philosophic!

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I really like the style and the theme song :)
Took me way too long to realize that the coffee grants me extra time ;)

dekart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Thank you for reviewing my game! Unfortunately I cannot return the favor - I don't have Windows so I cannot try your game. Anyway, good luck with it!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41pm

i liked how i in subsequent playthroughs learned what the different things did, it made the gameplay a lot more fun. good job with the graphics too.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58pm

A fun game that's touching a very private part of everyone's lives. Thanks for anticipating in Ludum dare and good luck! :)

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Since I do not have Windows installed I cannot play. Shame. :(

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

You're right, this is not so much. But somehow, this is the kind of "not-so-much" stuff, that I can still strongly enjoy!

That "Mom's of the world, we salute you." sentence should have been added ingame, but the depth of the game is still big compared to the complexity of the gameplay - partially because of the "implementation" of the theme. Also, it looks kinda cute!

You deserve a 4 overall without any doubt.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Yeah moms are very cool. Good idea. Nice little game... Is that blinking thing a smartphone? If yes... hahaha moms should nevr touch a boys smartphone ^^ Cool! Like it!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

good job man.. hope your feeling better :)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Great job. I enjoyed it!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

Heh-hey! This is pretty cool! :D

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:17am

This game was great!! Got almost 5-stars across the board from me! Funny, fun and great art!
P.S : Thanks for rating my game.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:01am

Great game for your first attempt, especially including the fact you were sick while doing it. Great work loved the art and sounds

mrjordan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:43am

Got tense at the end there. :)

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Loved YOGO Mom! It's very addictive, and once I understood the items and what I shouldn't clean up, I couldn't stop laughing! Mom's feet and the sound she makes when she's walking are lovely. Plus, it's great that you get one extra second after you're finished. Don't know if that's on purpose or not, but it's very rewarding to get an extra coffee after your score is already on the screen, and you get more time to keep playing. More games should do that :D

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:07pm

I like the sound she makes when she walks

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Haha, quite a nice and feely take on the theme! Loved the pixel art and the menu music! Also, get well soon!

fysx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Great humour, and you're damn right: mothers of the world, I salute you!

I found it however utterly unrealistic that the poop removes itself automatically. At least from my experiments this does not happen. But maybe you just meant the smell. Yes that gets less over time.

But seriously: congratulations on your first entry. It is very solid!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:12am

You're a tougher man then I am. I missed a couple of Ludum Darec because I was sick.

Anyway, your art style is nice, but the floor tiles don't seem to fit. Your game catches the atmosphere of "Oh dear God, I'm doing chores all day", which many kids usually don't notice about their mothers. Which is nice :)

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:35am

Super cute game! Graphics and menu music were sweet, but most of all I liked the message. Rock that mom respect!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Great first entry! Really cute pixel art, nice interpretation of the theme, fun sound and you completed the No Kill side mission - I'd say it was a big success! The only part of the game that confused me was the black box with the white outline and three coloured pixels. I couldn't really tell what that was, and the sound that played when picking it up made me feel like picking it up was a bad thing. Is it?

Snuti says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:33am

Hope you feel better now. It was our first LD as well :D Simple game, nice with the mechanic that it added more time or subtracted time. Best part about the game was the theme, kudos to all the moms out there!

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Solid game, maybe lacks of challenge a bit.

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:09am

Congratulations on your first entry !
It's a nice theme about Mom, can't agree with you any more :D
YOGO Mom and be nice to her~

--
And thank you for comment my game,
First time heard Soccer Kid, It seems like a pretty fun game :D

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Hahaha funny idea ;) Made me smile :P Congrats on your first jam ! I hope you are ok now !

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Hahaha funny idea ;) Made me smile :P Congrats on your first LD! I hope you are ok now !

postmodestie says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:57am

very funny kinda..

Jan Marcano says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:12am

"Alt Enter for HD" <- Awesome.

The music was a tad weird, but that didn't make it bad.

Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]