December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Turn

by dearenot - Jam Entry

The gameplay resembles Frozen Synapse - but there you have only one unit and only one turn to plan all your actions to defeat enemies (also there's no time limit for turn).

put waypoints with mouseclick, when done press ENTER to start.

a bit buggy)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#255Theme(Jam)2.79
#330Innovation(Jam)2.68
#434Humor(Jam)1.62
#473Audio(Jam)1.41
#502Mood(Jam)1.75
#516Fun(Jam)1.91
#538Graphics(Jam)1.65
#542Overall(Jam)1.94

Comments

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Good start, well done for trying. :)

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Interesting - I like the idea of being able to plan out all your tactics, then watch it play. The random setup of the levels were pretty unfair sometimes - would have loved some hand-crafted levels!

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

The game is really barebones and quite buggy, but I can see the appeal! This might become pretty fun if you put some more work into it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I like the use of the theme. I was able to win and lose at the same time.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05pm

I can dig it. It took me some time to get a feel for the mechanics of it but I had fun playing with it. I too scored a Win/Lose.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Good idea, bad game, sorry I have won 3/50...

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Great concept, but could do with a few rounds of bugfixing and polish. Also, uploading the swf to a webserver would definitely get you more rates as well :)

baton4ik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

The idea is certainly great, but a game is way too buggy. Sometimes the character shoots an enemy, sometimes he just shoots in front of himself, sometimes he gets stuck moving between two waypoints.

Kane says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The idea is good, but i think the game need a little more work and difficulty balancing

gnerkus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34am

The idea is really good. I had a few problems with the mechanics, though.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Noooo, urrrgh. Windows only? I am sadfaced. Any chance of a port? What technologies did you use? This looks great :)

dearenot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09pm

it was written in haxe with flash

angela says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:52am

I love the idea. Was it randomly generated? Seemed like some of the levels there wouldn't be any possible way to win. But as far as proof of concept goes this was pretty cool.

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:11am

Pretty tough game! Idea is great, interesting to play.

P.S. Омичам привет!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Even though there are a lot of bugs, and it's kind of incomplete, this idea has a LOT of potential!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Get rid of those bugs, work a little on the balancing, build some actual levels and you'll have a wonderful (and addictive) little game. I had some fun with this - despite the bugs kind of destroying the experience. It already has this "just one more level" thing and it's fun to plan your strategy.
If you ask me, you should definitely put some more work into it, the potential is surely there!

VAMflax says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Pretty cool. I've not played a game like this before. It's pretty difficult though!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Interesting idea, bit lacking on the execution as you mentioned

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:39pm

A lot of bug unfortunately, but still a good concept !

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Web link doesn't work for me. Anyway, I like the use of theme.

tomc says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:36pm

It would be good to rename the links. It's pretty confusing to anyone not on Windows to click the "Web" link, and download an HTML page that does nothing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]