December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pillow Fortress

by Ghost Pixels - Jam Entry

The teddy bear king has gone missing and the pillow fortress has descended into chaos. Survive the perils that lie inside and restore order to the kingdom.

Controls: WASD or arrow keys to move, left mouse click to throw your frisbee.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#106Humor(Jam)3.13
#242Fun(Jam)2.94
#301Mood(Jam)2.81
#302Audio(Jam)2.75
#358Graphics(Jam)2.89
#374Overall(Jam)2.83
#481Innovation(Jam)2.22
#525Theme(Jam)1.83
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47am

I love the idea of entering a pillow fortress and this world of the child's imagination. I just wish you had played this up more. I feel like there are so many cool places this premise can go!

Skulls says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49am

I walked off the map a few times but I loved the feel to this game it reminded me of an episode of adventure time. The mechanics where you could only throw one frisbee at a time were good, those gummy bears would swarm me if I didn't take careful gaim. I enjoyed playing this good job.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49am

Best game over, Ever!
difficulty increases too quick I think (damn ducks xD)
but had fun and enjoyed it, good job =)

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:50am

Those wizard ducks are aggressive man! The chattering teeth creep me out as well :)

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09am

Who know pillow fortress can be this huge? :D
It's hard to see the connection with the theme though...

Ghost Pixels says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Thanks to everyone for all your comments!

pjchardt, we ran out of time as it's usual during jams but we would've loved to spend more time on level design.

Skulls, Adventure Time was definitely one of our influences! I'm happy to hear you got the only-one-frisbee mechanic as that was our tie to the jam theme.

louis.denizet, I agree on the game over screen :) You should see the victory screen though! Try finding a teddy bear with a crown inside the dungeon...

harsanalif, pillow fortresses can be as big as the kid's imagination ;) Our only connection with the theme was restricting the disc throwing to one at a time.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36pm

I have found a bug, at one point I was under the floor, somehow. Aside from that, I'm not sure what the objective is, or if there is one, but I liked the enemy design. And the music is great!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Enjoyed this game. Good job!

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I really like how the Frisbee works ! At first, it felt pretty unclear what the game was about and what I had to do. But as others said there, I find the idea you chose for this universe interesting. Do you plan on extending this game's development ?

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:04am

Seems like a pretty impressive amount of content for the short dev time. I like the concept of the pillows and toys becoming a grand adventure through the child's eyes.

Ghost Pixels says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:51am

fullmontis, we had some problems with our sorting layers but it should be fixed in the latest version. The objective of the game is to explore the pillow fortress and see what you can find. There is an end to it, somewhere :)

SpellingPhailer, MoP is our favourite game of this jam. Thanks for dropping by!

ResonantCraft, glad you enjoyed the frisbee! It was hard to implement because all the physics were written from scratch.

HellBlazer, thanks for your comments. We wanted to make something like Rugrats in a video game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]