December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The hunter

by MrTedders - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
wasd - move
Left click - shoot

Programs used:
Unity, Audacity, Paint.net, Bfxr

My first ludum dare entry and my first game released to the public in any form. Feedback and suggestions greatly appreciated.

Tip:
There is a bug where you are unable to pick up the weapon. To fix this simply just go into a closet and come back out. I'll fix this as soon as possible.

Edit:
Thank you to everyone who has played so far! You have no idea how much it means to know that people enjoyed my game, it was scary going into this since this is my first released game but I feel inspired now to do much, much more! Thank you!

Fixes:
Sound loudness on certain areas have been decreased
OS and linux users can now properly download the game
Spear/arrow/thing no longer stopped by red rings
Sound ring size now no longer framerate dependant, thus game is beatable on lower framerate monitors
Walking through wall bug
Weapon unpickupable error

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#15Mood4.03
#30Innovation3.98
#59Audio3.58
#60Overall3.77
#158Fun3.43
#386Theme3.10
#395Graphics3.12
#587Humor2.04

Comments

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00am

Wow, the first game I've played in LD this time around, and I'm already speechless! Stylish, minimalist, and has a satisfying amount of playing around required before you realize what exactly needs to be done. Seriously excellent work!

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10am

Very stylish and a awesome unique concept. Well executed but the monster's hit box may be a little small, 4 attempts and no hits when it seemed dead on :(. Also one other little thing, he attacks you even if he hears the spear the other side of the room lol.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59am

Excellent feels. Fun game too, very tactile.

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10am

This was pretty awesome. Stealth done very well. I couldn't make it to the end on a count of me sucking at games that are scary. This was very scary. Got through a few levels before my heart was beating too fast and I had to quit. Great job.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42am

Very interesting and innovative. I haven't seen this type of mechanic used much and it seems pretty cool.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04am

Incredibly tense, I've seen a few games try to pull off something like this, with sound/echolocation being the only visual, this is the first one I know of that actually pulls it off, amazing job!.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Wow, awesome concept and execution!

TheSoboy007 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Is this supposed to happen? http://i.imgur.com/q7ldhZH.png It seems the game is stuck and they won't leave, and it's spamming my speakers with static. Apart from this little bug I'm loving the game and idea. It's so well designed and thought out. Excellent job! Kudos.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very nice concept! Actually I worked on something somewhat similar for Asylum Jam a few months ago. However, it didn't quite have such a unique style. The small pieces of texts appearing in the level especially are a very nice touch.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Absolutely terrifying. I loved it!
One bug, you can run through thin walls by running. Other than that - awesome :)

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Very interesting. I love the minimalism.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Incredible...the concept is great!

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Screenshots unfortunately can't do this game justice. You really have to play it to see what's going on...but the point is being unable to see. :) You pick up the concept immediately without having to be told anything but "KILL HIM".

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00am

Dear lord, that, was, terrifying. Loved every minute of it. I want more.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54am

The style and controls are very adecuate, and the feel is wonderful.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:57am

Loved this! I thought I was about to play another slow-moving story game, but I was pleasantly surprised. Great concept and the graphics suited the gameplay very well. Good job!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:01am

Great atmosphere. The blind mechanic was really well done. I agree that the hitboxes may be a little small but all in all a really well done game.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04am

Could not download: Bad file length

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04am

Whew, nicely done! It was intense and freaky and I enjoyed it very much. The only things I noticed have already been mentioned by TheSoboy007 and phi6. Great game!

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:21am

Wow, this is really something special! Love the minimalistic presentation and the innovative mechanics!

tinyangrycrab says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

This was an interesting one. Pretty unique - I like the soundwave mechanic as both exploration and detection. The sound and theming were well done, with the text popping in appropriately. One of the enemies appears to throw a sulk and turn into a huge storm of concentric circles though!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Thanks for the feed back guys! Yeah I figured out how to fix the spaz but I actually like the effect of it so I'm going to figure out how to recreate it without it being as loud as it is

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Love it! The text appearing on screen really intensifies the experience and the mood is excellent. Watching the footsteps is very creepy as well. Can't find much fault with this one. Great job.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Getting an "Unexpected end of archive" error message in WinRAR when trying to download the Windows version.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Strange, Ill have to look into that. I recommend trying the web version.

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:07pm

This was really cool. I will be sending this to friends to try out. The simple sound design is perfect for this game. One thing I did discover though, was if you sprint constantly you get a Doppler effect where all the sound waves bunch up at the leading edge. This allows you to charge the monster and spear him easily since he can't hear you until you are ontop of him. By making the waves propagate slightly faster, or the player run slightly slower you could probably avoid this.

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Really cool and scary!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:22pm

@doitle yeah I thought about it but didn't look into it too much, Ill definitely see what i can do to fix it. Thanks for letting me know what you think guys!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Sweet baby Jesus that was tense! I was genuinely scared. :D It was a bit hard to understand what to do at first but I'm glad that I stuck around. Thank you :)

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:56pm

For some reason or another I found that I could run trough walls. Or atleast I think they were walls. I'd like to think they were walls. Also the spear alerted the enemies way too easily.

Very tense game, felt a bit "jumpscarey" at some points though.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Very nice how you created that intense atmosphere without a lot of graphics. Well done!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:08am

Really great entry. Awesome mechanic and the aesthetics fit perfectly! Well done!

Kohijin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:55am

Brilliant idea and also very well executed! Was a bit confused about the perspective for a moment but got the hang of it pretty quickly. A pitty that the screenshots don't convey the deep atmosphere of the game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:35am

Good game! I loved the mood it gave off.

Rscar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25am

This game was awesome! Super innovative, I loved it. Well done with the audio and overall design.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:17am

Very unique gameplay and concept, the monsters freak me out when they detect you xD. Good job.

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31pm

The game was bugged halfway. Great game, nice concept, simple but fun game :D

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Elegant mechanic.
I like the fact that I didn't understand it was top view right away.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Amazing mood and atmosphere for such little graphics :)

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Loving the stylisation and minimalism. Great job!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Woah, minimalistic stealth, great stuff!

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Like the use of sound, it made me feel like a real hunter. Nice game.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:05pm

this game kept me on my toes. really nice experience. but. I think I was able to walk through walls. fix that and this is a really great game! :D

danbo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I feel like I've played something like this before, but I really like it. White on black Courier never gets old for creepiness!

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:30pm

That 3d sounds... made me really really tense!
i think the mood is great and fits the theme.
kudos!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:58pm

This definitely deserves a high placing in Innovation and Mood, such a well executed concept. I'll have to play more when I'm not so scared of the dark :)

Kuupu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:34pm

WOW! nice experience, really wanna play this more sometime!

I just think its really hard to hit the enemy, but all the rest is really fine.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:52pm

what a great game. I'm amazed... nicely done.

BuKaneerz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:22am

I really like the concept and the mood of your game ! Even if i didn't succed to to kill the monster :/
keep it up ! (:

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:39am

Great entry. Lots of mood, polish and tension. Felt it was too hard to shoot things.

Katamori says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:34am

Minimalistic horror feeling: full of 5*s in a nutshell.

You know what you have to do. Expand it with more levels, maybe even more gameplay elements!

At least: PLEASE!!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:49am

Holy shit! That's creepy! But very good!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:45am

A very unique entry which really perfectly shows how you can distill horror to its most core concepts. High marks all around!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:59am

Pretty awesome game! I love it!

yosh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:30am

It's probably not on purpose but someone had the exact same idea for LD26 (minimalism). That created an immediate déjà-vu for me, but on the paper, the concept is really great. So here we have only one arrow, it was maybe not the best gameplay choice, but at least it makes the game more realistic I guess.

What I really loved though was the mood emerging from this game. The dark atmosphere and the sound effects just hook you up instantly, then we have this weird narrative layer coming up... really well done.

Congratulation for this... 48h game! wow

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:44am

At first I was getting impatient, before I discovered the awesome mechanic to "see" your surroundings and to be "seen. It gives you a good sense of navigation, while allowing for tense gameplay.

ambi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:48am

This is an absolutely brilliant idea. Well executed.

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very well made, an excellent entry!

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:55pm

liked it a lot. interesting challenging and engaging

Oli says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Wow! Great concept, minimalist graphics but great atmosphere. I like it, good job!

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Awesome! Really nice mechanic!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:58pm

A very tense kind of game. Done well, save for a few bugs/oddities.

DJLad97 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Never played a scarier 2D games, the first enemy made me poo

Dynad says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Very challenging game for sure! GJ!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Nice use of this mechanic, had me on the edge of my seat. Besides a couple glitches, like not being able to pick my spear up on the second level, it was a well done game.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Really cool concept. The minimalist sound and graphics really worked well together. I would love to see you do more with this game.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Wow. Scare. Wofe.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very great, minimalistic and well implemented concept. I was totally confused ant the beggining, and scared too xD

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Super-great idea. Loved this - exciting, tense, scary, thoughtful, strategic. I found the sound effects a little grating and it seemed a little tricky to lead the opponents in order to hit 'em, but otherwise this is gold. Great entry, well done!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:39am

Great game ! Wow it is scary ! Excellent idea !

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:16am

"That had atmosphere dripping off of it." -Kinkaido

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:05am

This is really good for a first time Ludum Dare entry. Good stuff!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:11pm

This game is great. I like the aesthetics and the atmosphere really gives you the feeling of blindness and fear. Congrats!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Wow, yes loved it! Very very tense, good understanding of how to elicit fear in the player

henrykun says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Very well implemented, I really like the atmosphere of the game. Interesting idea and simple. Nicely done!.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:46pm

That was intense - and a very original concept. I'd love to see more of this.

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I like the gameplay! but this game was posted at the last LD... Very good job!!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Thanks for all the comments and feedback everyone!
@van noctar I don't think it was. I was heavily inspired by a runner up from ld26 but if theres a game much like this one from ld27 could you link it?

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very fun game. Keep up the good work

dementor561 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:39am

this game is awesome

Several says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:44am

Excellent work.

I've often wanted to play with permanent blindness as a gameplay element, but I doubt I would have used it in a sort of top-down sniping game, or added bits of horror in.

Bug-wise, I managed to A) run through a wall once, B) get the spear to stick parallel to a wall (such that I wasn't able to pick it up) when I fired in that direction, while pressed against said wall, and C) encounter or provoke something in the second area that produced a lot of noise and densely-packed concentric red rings but never moved.

nSun says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:09pm

The web-version has crashed 3 times before I could play.
Realy nice game, but I did not understand the relation to the theme... (You Only Get One... weapon ?)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Really nice concept, super scary!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:28pm

TENSE! it a bit slow, but very tense game

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I love the idea of an echo location game. The sound effects were a bit harsh, especially for headphones wearers. Otherwise, great concept.

Zener says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Incredible concept! Very well done, I love it

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:34pm

What an AMAZING concept. I love it. I think that I die a couple of times even though I killed the "monsters" before they got me, and also encountered a couple more bugs, but apart from the technical problems I really dig the realization.

I think the theme could have maybe fit better, but this is an EXCELLENT entry.

Congrats.

OneDee says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Tried web and it says download data failed!

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:41am

AMAZING MOOD!
I really love this game!
good job. :D

Skoggy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really good!

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Good game! Reminds me of a game from LD26 where the sounds were lines instead of circles. I like the shooting mechanic which that game lacked.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Quite and intense game! Good going!!

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:31pm

This is the scariest game ever :D

Very innovative concept. Well done.

Sebastian says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:51am

Very spooky atmosphere, I enjoyed this brilliant little game very much.

xhunterko says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Well, this was certainly atmospheric. Well played sir. Well played.

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:12pm

So simple and clean.
Something.. different. It strikes me.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:52am

Interesting.

HybridMind says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Had a great time playing this for sure. Made it a few levels. Very fun to play around with the sound waves. My only complaint is I can't really see how this relates to the theme at all.

Managore says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Fantastic game! The concept is really unique and it set a great mood.

frogmaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Amazing stuff! Extremely playable and innovative. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]