Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bounty hunting - vallde - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's my entry!
Made with:
- Unity
- 3dsMax
- Photoshop
- sfxr
- autotracker.py

View vallde's journal. | View all entries by vallde

Ratings

Coolness67%
#12Overall4.08
#15Fun3.92
#21Theme4.06
#22Innovation4.05
#76Graphics3.98
#124Mood3.45
#131Humor3.29
#162Audio3.22

Comments

Lyje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Really cool! Very simple, original idea, and very fun.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:22pm

10/10 would shoot again

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Wow, I love this concept: very Innovative ! Good stuff ! =]

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Fun little game. I didn't initially realise I could move, because I clicked through all the initial menus with one shot. which also shot my bullet.. So I sat static until my bullet got stuck, then learnt I could move!

Was interesting. has almost a bullet hell appeal.

hate-marina says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Good one!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Yesss this game was a lot of fun.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45pm

This was really amazing. I've never played a game like this before, so it was interesting to see what you'd do with it, and you didn't disappoint. I feel like this is a lot of work for 2 days too, so good job. How do you kill the worm, though? I attacked it repeatedly and it reappeared 4 times then I got bored... Anyway, really nice job!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:07pm

All I was thinking while I was playing was: WHAAAT! This game is awesome! Such a clever idea I want to cry! Congrats!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11pm

This feels very well polished/tested as demonstrated by little things like the line from objects to the planet and how you attract the bullet at a certain distance. The music is a little annoying but otherwise this is a strong entry!

Ps. Great feedback for destroying enemies

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25am

One of the best games I've seen so far.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

Trippy fun! Fun to master recollecting your projectile after shooting it, though i must say that I'm unsure of how to defeat Jim, or whether I'm even damaging him.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

Really great use of the theme. I love the graphics, controls, and even music. Totally shocked when the worm appeared as well!

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:32am

Awesome fun! Great concept and execution :) Died on the worm a few times but I did eventually improve.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35am

Ahah I loved your sense of humor ! This game has a great great quality and will be a top game for sure ! Perfect audio, perfect graphics, perfect mechanics, just perfect !

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59am

this is a really good game, I keep dying on the first boss :/

i didn't know what i was supposed to do at first and after shooting him a few times and nothing happening i though maybe i needed to touch it, which obviously ended up with me taking a bunch of damage. i died then.

then i was playing and something happened and i accidentally ran into it with full health and i heard the taking damage noise play like 10 times over each other and i died.

i dig this game a lot, i'd love to see a fuller version of this!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Fantastic idea - well polished, fun *and* funny. I felt a little claustrophobic, maybe a slightly larger planet would have given more room to dodge? Good job though, especially the worm animations :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25pm

This was really cool. Smooth and original gameplay. Love it :)

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Very good graphics and control!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Amazing! It reminds me Super Mario Galaxy, very good job! And good election and mechanic to implementate the theme.

TheCams says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Great concept, nice graphics, loved it !
Just add a feedback when you hit the worm, and maybe improve the sound a bit, and you have a perfect game !

Broxxar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:03am

This is great. Would be nice to have some visual feedback when you hit the worm, maybe flash red or something. Other than that this was a pretty solid entry, orbiting mechanic was really well done.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:04pm

LOVED IT ***** ;)

diegosato says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Nice and smooth gameplay. Really love small planet games :)

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Nice idea, I like it.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:24pm

This is a concept I'd love to see expanded into a full game. "You only get one bullet...but you can catch it and reuse it!" Brilliant! :3

baton4ik says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Great! 5/5.

Stals says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:09am

Great game! Liked that the bullet is attracted to you if you are close enough.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Lovely executions! :)
I wasn't expecting the worm hehe! :D

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:30am

Awesome entry, I love the movement on a sphere and how you represent everything, drawing the lines down to the surface makes it really clear where everything is. I'd love to see this polished!

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:28am

Simple and fun, would play again :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:28pm

absolutely fantastic :)

Kroltan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Best game in LD yet!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:09pm

haha very nice game! i love it :) great job!

Miltage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I really enjoyed this game. The bullets around the sphere are incredibly well executed. Not sure how to defeat the worm though, I keep shooting him but he never seems to die.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Very cool idea and well executed too. The game was a lot more interesting when I noticed I could move the ship. Great work!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:18am

Hm...Jim doesn't look anything like he did in his previous games. Looks a lot more like an Arrakin sandworm. :P

Really cool little game. Wasn't able to win, but I thoroughly enjoyed playing it.

porglezomp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:28am

Great game! Jim was a boss worthy of mario (and quite reminded me of some of the Bowser fights in Super Mario Galaxy)
10/5 for humor. (Although I didn't see the "...nvm" the first time through, and it was a bit weird)

UltraRat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Orbital physics is such an underused mechanic, good to see it used well.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:29am

Neat little shooter. I couldn't figure out how to beat the worm. It would have been nice if the bullet would boomerang back to you after a period of time, instead of continuously orbiting the planet.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Unfortunately, there's no Unity web player for Linux :(

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:33pm

5/5 for innovation! Loved the game, and the awesome way you implemented the theme.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Very cool game, I really like it! I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/tnNlwxp-9J8

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]