December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Color Range

by allinlabs - 48 Hour Compo Entry


== DESCRIPTION ==

You Only Get (to see) One color (at a time).

Color Range is a platformer where every level has several different colored elements,
but you can only have one colored set of elements visible at a time.
The idea come from noddy2006 and Managore on Reddit, kudos to them.


== KEY BINDING==

* AD to move (QD for qwerty keyboards)
* Space to jump
* 1,2,3,4,5 to switch color (mouse wheel and clicking on the HUD works too)
* N to jump to the next level if you need to
* R to restart a level


== Update ==

* pushed an hotfix for the 4th and 5th colors that was making the game impossible to complete if you were switching colors with the keyboard and not the wheel mouse. Thanks to ParaPup and hazzen for noticing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Innovation3.80
#68Overall3.75
#73Fun3.63
#165Theme3.50
#284Graphics3.35
#295Mood3.08
#359Audio2.78
#701Humor1.80
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:57am

What a great concept. I think it would be awesome if I could use my keypad (number pad) instead of the numbers at the top to change colors. It would feel a bit more fluid than having one hand floating over the top of the other to hit numbers while moving.

Otherwise, the concept is awesome, the controls and platforming seemed really responsive and solid. Great game all around.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17am

Once I got to the level with 4 and 5 it didn't work but I really like what you have done here.

hazzen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43pm

4 and 5 are broken on the first level with them, so I can't tell if you went anywhere with this or not. Similar mechanic to Fly Wrench, though much less manic.

Also, listing the controls would be nice - took me a while to figure out how to move, and then a while longer to figure out jump.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Thank you guys for noticing, I pushed an hotfix to address this bug.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Nice game with a great concept!

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Good minimalist game! i really enjoy with this.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I like the consistent style! Level design has some really great potential! :D

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24pm

This is beautiful, unique, and incredibly clever. Please, please, please extend this. An interesting idea might be to give each colour a different attribute too (e.g. blue is slippy like ice) for later stages. Would like some foreshadowing of the position of blocks though, like the shadows of the blue projectiles you see later on, but for everything.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18pm

This is such a clever mechanic! :) I like the way you are slowly increasing the difficulty! This is something I'd love to see extended! :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Good game!
Mechanic isn't new but it good going with theme.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Interesting take on the theme, some nice level design as well.

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42pm

It's really wonderful to see me and noddy2006's idea made into a game! I like the minimalist style and the variety of levels. Terrific job!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I've seen another interation of this mechanics in this LD, but yours plays somehow smoother .. maybe it's the music :)

Photon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:13am

Very cool concept. Its just a shame that games like these are the ones that seem like they ran out of time to put levels in! Why does it have to be over so fast? Good execution to be sure though.

0x0961h says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:23am

Love the style, very clean, very minimalistic. And the core mechanic is great. You should make a full game from it, it'll be interesting. :)

Killswitch says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:34am

Excellent game! I beat it. :P

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:15am

I really enjoyed this game and especially enjoyed the visuals. One thing that would be useful is being able to see where the are colours are when they are not active (like the way you can see still see the missiles when they are not active)

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:23am

Awesome Concept

almightysuit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:26am

Very, very nicely done!

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:31am

This is a really enjoyable game. Solid concept and solid implementation.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:47am

Great idea and execution!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:55am

Wow, so many good platformer games this Ludum Dare. :)

Jerre says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:58am

Very solid game, good level design too

havana24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:34am

Clever idea! :)

ahm99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Yes it was short, but this is one of the coolest games I've seen thus far. Great work :)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Hahaha, we had the same idea for the game! I like from yours the better level design and the UI elements (really help). I found the jump a bit dodgy at times. Well done!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:38am

Really fun entry, well done. :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Really nice, I enjoyed this.. Maybe little too easy, but I know that creating good and balanced levels is really hard in such time. Music is repetitive but I noticed it only now, when I'm not concentrated to the game anymore -- it's not problem because of the short length ;) Good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]