December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Last of Kind

by Mr.Cassels - Jam Entry

A fiendishly difficult fast-paced action crusade to defend the last tribble from insectoid legions bent on it's destruction.
=================
runs slowly and gets choppy on a some machines (cause unknown).
=================
arrow keys to move, x to attack.
if you can last over 60 seconds without the BFS, let the world know!
=================
Music is not mine, credits are inside game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Theme(Jam)2.80
#329Humor(Jam)2.12
#359Audio(Jam)2.50
#462Fun(Jam)2.30
#465Mood(Jam)2.21
#478Overall(Jam)2.45
#481Graphics(Jam)2.30
#487Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

Runs really slow and choppy, even though the screen is tiny. Still, not a bad interpretation of the theme!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34am

AAA! i hate nice games too!! )) God job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45am

I'm not completely sure if I understood the gameplay tho the graphics were nice. There was a glitch? where all the bugs just flew into eachother which was cool. I don't think I could kill anyone.

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36am

This is amazing. I giggled aloud for about 30 seconds straight. And then my roommate came over to see what was up and did the exact same thing. A+

Defr├Ąg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01am

The enemies often spawn on top of the thing you're trying to protect

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23am

I had fun playing this game. The attack mechanism was a little hard to get used to but it was fun once I figured it out. I didn't understand the various weapons on the start screen. The objective was clear having read the instructions but the game could communicate the objective more clearly.

acerunox says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:03pm

As stvr said. Game runs really slow and choppy. Also music gets irritating after some time.

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Nice work! Interesting attack mechanic added a nice challenge.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:52am

I really liked the music and hand drawn aesthetic. Great job!

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:35pm

The text in the title screen at the top was ridiculously small. Better leave out altogether the next time :)

greytram says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice game! Controls are a bit too slow though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]