December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1Heart

by Pete Clayton - Jam Entry

A light, casual game where you must take care of what goes into your heart. Keep it shielded from the negativity but be careful not to close off your heart to all the joys as well!

This was my first ever game jam and what a ride it was!

Primarily 1Heart was made for Unity Web Player with no window resizing. I've also provided a Linux version for x86 & x64 systems but there is a tiny glitch that will mean you have to manually resize the window.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1795Coolness0%

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37am

Fun game with a good message. I particularly liked how the shield was used to both block attacks and let the smiley faces in.

Pete Clayton says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35am

Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

TeamKl0n says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:55pm

I find the mechanic of the shield really interesting. Getting a bigger shield is a double-edged sword. The game could just be a bit faster, but the music gave it a zen-like mood.
Good Job!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I love the message and the bigger shield is pretty unique. I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/1dYHR5aknGc

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Simple fun game.

Pete Clayton says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:52am

TeamKl0n - I know what you mean. There is a scaled difficulty in there but I ran out of time to make it more upbeat :) Thanks for the feedback!

Pete Clayton says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:53am

DanielSnd - Thank you! I learned a great deal from this Jam and one was to keep it simple :)

Pete Clayton says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:55am

Jupiter_Hadley, thank you very much for including 1Heart in your video series! Just saw all the lovely feedback here and it was a nice Christmas present :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]