December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

_You only get your keyboard!

by jackolondon - Jam Entry

Hi everyone! This is our first attempt for the ludum dare, and we made it!

You're in space, some ships are attacking you. Use your keyboard (new and powerfull technology) to destroy the ennemies, typing their name with it!

We did not have enough time to finish the second level so we made the first level much harder.

Hope you'll enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#118Fun(Jam)3.31
#130Humor(Jam)3.00
#216Overall(Jam)3.19
#220Mood(Jam)3.00
#253Innovation(Jam)2.89
#321Audio(Jam)2.68
#322Graphics(Jam)3.03
#431Theme(Jam)2.28

Comments

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05am

I killed 49 ships. Love typing so this game was right up there for me. Just like typing of the dead :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08am

36 ships! As the button said, "try harder!"

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24am

I got 29, its quite fun and rather intense as it gets harder

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32am

Very nice game! I had a lot of fun playing it but didn't beat it!

Good graphics and nice feeling.

I miss some clicky sound while writing in the keyboard

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Not incredibly fitting with the theme, but certainly a fun game.

When the ship explodes, its graphics is not remove. You should only leave the explosion animation, otherwise you don't send clear feedback to the player whether the ship is dead or it was just hit once. I found myself very confused by it at the start.

With some slightly more polished graphics and a better font, this could be a nice game.

P.s.
I lol'd at the Loading screen.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:17pm

I killed 40 ships! Congratz! Nice game... :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Very nice ! The most fun game I've played for now !

jackolondon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57am

@MaTX thanks for your feedback, it's very usefull :)
Regarding the theme, we interpret it like this : there's so much ship (then so much words to type) that you need more than one keyboard to win the game, but you only get one.
It sounds like a kind of joke, but I understand your point.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:00pm

nice take on typing games. and it looks real pretty.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Nice! Tricky though, and not sure "one keyboard" has much to do with the theme!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Tough game. But fun

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Interesting concept !

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:53pm

44 ships. Typing is hard, you know. :) Cool idea, thank you!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I really love typing games. Good Job! I included this game in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/JK9Dz3oR_Xs

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I wish there were more words, a bit more of a variety.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Funny way to practice keyboard typing! Should use more different phrases though.
Graphics for the spaceship are quite simplistic but space is well rendered. Music is entertaining.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:54am

Interesting idea and nice art, though the 2D ship frame doesn't fit very well with the 3D environment. I wish the ship was constantly moving around, like the players do in Typing Of The Dead, instead of just swinging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]