About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 1 hour, 31 minutes, 14 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 1 hour, 43 minutes, 14 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 2 hours, 31 minutes, 14 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Gravity Assist - Lyje - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In "Gravity Assist" players fire a particle through a map of gravity fields, repulsors and speed boosters, scoring by making the particle's trajectory graze as many objects as closely as possible without hitting them.

    You only get one particle at a time to score with but can retry at will if you think you can do better. Each particle leaves a trail both to help you perfect your trajectories and reward experimentation by getting prettier the more you play.

    http://gameoflyje.wordpress.com/
    @six_ways

    Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/18/gravity-assist-post-mortem/

    View Lyje's journal. | View all entries by Lyje

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #133Fun3.47
    #155Overall3.51
    #294Innovation3.22
    #317Graphics3.28
    #408Mood2.90
    #591Audio2.32
    #700Theme2.51
    #701Humor1.80

    Comments

    phi6 says ...
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:09pm

    I love, it's really addictive and showing the previous attempts is vital. Really difficult to figure out the optimal path in order to get as many points as possible!

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

    This is so fun, great concept great everything realy.

    Loren says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

    very cool, love these gravity games :D I really enjoyed the style and powerup features.

    phi6 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49am

    Rated! Addictive game, but I think it could be improved further by showing your previous attempt's power (pull back) as well as trajectory.

    conormn says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35pm

    Very nice job!

    sudorossy says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:14pm

    Difficult, but quite rewarding! Powerups are a cool idea!

    Jgpicatoste says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:44pm

    Really cool concept! Simple but fun.

    hate-marina says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:54pm

    Guys, listen.
    Guys.
    Listen.
    I have best idea ever.
    Guys.
    Once you hit nucleus, it should split!
    And produce TWO more neutrones.
    Guys, NUCLEAR EXPLOSION!

    * Nice one, looks a bit like Gravity Wars.

    KumoKairo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

    Interesting game, really had fun playing it. It's a surely kind of a "master it" game :)
    And those trails are just gorgeous! I'll take a look at the source to learn how to do those, hope you won't mind :)
    Great job!

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25pm

    I spent far to much time perfecting my score per level. Really addictive game!

    Diptoman says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

    Love this! My favorite so far!
    The concept is awesome, the game is addicting, and there are a lot of features in there. However, the theme use is weak, some music would be nice, and the retry/next options are rather ugly - these would be my only complaints. But the gameplay makes up for that, so full score from me!

    chamberlainpi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38pm

    Has that "addictive" special sauce for sure. I love these types of space-physics simulation games. Inspired by "Angry Birds in Space" maybe? Still, very nice submission. I like that you implemented repulsion fields too.
    Some of the forces (when combined with nearby ones) doesn't seem to make much sense though. It's like only the last entered force-field is applying its force on the projectile. Is that intentional, or maybe overlooked?
    Regardless, good job! :)

    Lyje says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01pm

    @hate-marina: That would be awesome! I'll stick it on my list of potential additions on my blog post ( http://bit.ly/19aRCph ) and hopefully add some bits!

    @KumoKairo: It's just the Unity TrailRenderer component, it's super easy to use. At the risk of shamelessly self-promoting, check out the previous (and first...) post on my blog cos I talk about it briefly.

    @Diptoman: Totally agreed on music and the UI - I only had time to use built-in Unity UI which is notoriously awful!

    @chamberlainpi: It was actually more inspired by my day job (I'm an accelerator physicist) but it definitely ended up with rovio-esque elements. The forces are implemented in a fairly hacky way so, as you've noticed, it's a little... wrong in some situations! If I were to do this "properly", I'd be very careful with the physics code and start from scratch.

    finefin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40pm

    this is a good one!
    I want more levels!

    darwinpek says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:30am

    I got 25,888! It would have been nice to also see where the mouse was previously for each of the trails; it would make it a lot easier to tweak the trajectories.

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:32am

    Awesome concept! Well executed. Very addictive game indeed.

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:09am

    Oh wow I love gravity games! And this one is awesome! Just one thing: on level 3, "the fastest way to the endzone may not be the best" is not true. I managed to send a particle full-blast through the big ones, just shooting straight. But this is addictive and fun, so top marks!

    Lyje says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:02pm

    Thanks Christina! The message on level 3 means that you can score more by going the long way round.

    fullmontis says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10pm

    Very interesting concept. Simple yet very addicting. I really enjoyed it.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    Nice idea!
    I also like that there are different types of elements that do different things.
    Visually it looks great to see all the trajectories of all your attempts to do better (a piece of art sometimes).
    But that also made it more difficult at some point to see my last attempt. I already had trouble recreating my last attempt especially with slow speeds (it's hard to see where you are pointing when there's only a small line).
    That made me feel a bit like shooting in the dark.

    Some more indication of power and direction would be nice. Maybe not numbers, because that would make it too obvious, but maybe some circles around your dot as power indicators and lines radiating form the center at every 30 degrees to indicate direction?
    That way you could more easily finetune your last attempt ("I was somewhere between the first and second circle and next to the 30 degrees line").

    Ekilibr says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35pm

    Addictive Gameplay, and cool graphics. Nice job !

    van noctar says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07pm

    Great concept! The game is interesting!

    Manou says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:10pm

    The next and retry buttons are annoying, very good game otherwise!

    Lyje says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13pm

    @Manou - Unfortunately given the time, I was hamstrung by Unity's GUI code! But you can restart quicker by pressing space.

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:30pm

    Very fun (and difficult)!
    Also, the graphics looks pretty cool!
    The only complain I can make is about the lack of music. It would really help creating a nicer mood.

    ExtreLime says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:21pm

    Well, it wa fun to play it even it was short. The gameplay is pretty attractive =)

    xrm0 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:22pm

    Great game!. Love the graphics.
    My only complaint is that the retry button has assigned a key (spacebar) but move to the next level not.

    Lyje says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:32pm

    @xrm0: Thanks! The reason for the "next" button not having a key is mainly to prevent accidental presses, but this would perhaps be solved with better UI (e.g. a bigger button!) anyway.

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:59am

    Interesting concept. I played it a few times, and it's great fun!
    Very nice :)

    javifugitivo says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:30am

    Addictive! Nice game!

    funselektor says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:33am

    Good polish, the difficulty ramped up at a good pace. Takes lots of tries, but it's nice to see the past paths!

    rojo says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:46am

    I failed so many times, but it did look nice!

    CatOnMars says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:40am

    I love the part that particle paths are remained if you retry. Nice job.

    jdpalmer says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:51pm

    I made it through all the levels! Nice work on your game.

    Zhrack says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:24pm

    Very difficult to get points! Nice!

    jacklehamster says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:14pm

    Nice visuals. I feel the trails of old paths should have less opacity though

    Coblynau says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:19am

    Really good fun, would like to see more of this.

    kakhoofd says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:55am

    really addictive, like it lots!

    frogcheese says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:33pm

    This was really cool! I tried for high points for a while, but it got ridiculously hard really fast. And then my screen ended up looking like an abstract art piece. It's not often that I somehow manage to create something so beautiful by failing horribly at a task. I salute you ;)

    ipe369 says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:32am

    Really enjoyed this^_^ I found myself retrying the levels over and over for the highest score:3

    Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:43am

    Great idea, your game is addictive ! I like the mechanics. Really good work!

    lilinx says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:42pm

    Interesting! It's nice to be able to retry as much as you want, and to be able to analyze your previous moves.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]