December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ABOUT MONSTERS

by lowcade - Jam Entry

Finally, it's done!

About Monsters is my first game alone (I participated in LD27 with friends). This experience was extremely rewarding. I learned a lot about games and tools. I confess that at times I doubted that I could finish. But I was wrong. Hope you enjoy the result. Thanks to everyone who attended the event, which influenced positively throughout the process.


ABOUT

Joseph is a monster who loves ice cream. But humans do not like Joseph. And even fantasized people know who he is. So let's help Joseph killing everyone?

The game contain 3 types of gameplay:
- Cormano - Easy mode
- T-Rex - Normal mode
- Racoon Ninja - Hard mode

You only have one life to achieve. And try to find a easter egg.


CONTROLS

< > - Control Joseph
Z - Jump
X - Attack (Except with Racoon and other one)


TOOLS

Game Maker Studio
Adobe Illustrator
Adobe Flash
Music - www.newground.com/audio


SPECIAL THANKS to Carolina Araujo, Fernando Scaff Moura and Rubens Cavalheiro.

*P.S.: Unfortunately I do not have a Apple computer to export a version for mac os. Sorry about that.

*P.S.2: You can follow my adventures in lowcade.tumblr.com, here: twitter.com/lowcade and here: https://www.facebook.com/lowcade

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Graphics(Jam)4.39
#71Humor(Jam)3.35
#74Audio(Jam)3.59
#84Overall(Jam)3.59
#104Fun(Jam)3.36
#160Mood(Jam)3.25
#208Theme(Jam)2.95
#376Innovation(Jam)2.57
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

triforcespark says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

Quite good graphics, but some effects like enemy death are lacking.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Noce graphics... like it that i was able to choose a monster. Nice designed characters. Music was good sounding... some polishing for the animations maybe :)

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:45am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03s4RmoqBdU
My first impressions on the game :D

FrederickK says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:18am

You made a jam alone? Was really not worthy enter the comp?
Well, anyway, wow! 3 characters! With "different" stages (they look different)!
Really impressive work, has a lot of personality.
The gameplay could be better, it is very bugged, I think you was too ambitious but made a great effort, would be awesome to see this more polished.
Great job!

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:13am

So cute!!! This is amazing! Best game I've played thus far! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/CxUIxKQApqc

lowcade says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Thanks guys!

triforcespark, Unfortunately not figured time well, and ended up missing some animations. But I'm glad you enjoyed it.

psychomonster, thanks man! I will work in the game and try to turn into a full game.

DanielSnd, Thanks for the video. Watching someone playing showed me clearly what needs to be polished in the game. Thanks for the support.

Yeah FrederickK. Being my first time programming, I opted for the JAM, to have more time. After receiving the feedback, I have thought about working more in the game and launch a more polished version with more levels and refined gameplay.

Jupiter_Hadley, Thank you for your appearance on video. And I am very happy to know you liked my work.

vapgames says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Looks cool, great style, but i constantly get stuck on the edge of platforms.

aeveis says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:12am

Nice art! interesting variations with the gameplay/difficulty.

pele says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:26am

That was fun! Some collision detection issues or not-clear ledges, but I like the idea and love how you worked the difficulty into the game!

local minimum says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:57am

I liked the graphics, but the controls were a bit hard to handle in combination with the level design. Most times I never managed to jump up onto platforms and once I managed to get stuck inside a platform. Great start for first time entry though!

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:32am

Playing as the Cormano is way too easy. Playing as the Ninja is almost impossible due to the number of enemies. It's reasonably fun and I love the graphics.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Fourth character was my favorite - really unexpected ;) Love the art style - really good sense of design.

goerp says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I really like the style of your graphics. Good that you made three different ways to play.
Sometimes the monster would get stuck, but mostly it played well.
I thought, that if you made the game with Flash, making a mac version would be easy. Just change the publish settings? Or you zip a folder with the .swf and html files?

mcapraro says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:21am

awesome graphics!

lowcade says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! I will work in the game in near future. Now I know how to fix problema of gameplay hahaha. :)

davisan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Cool game! Nice style!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:53pm

The visual style is awesome and the music is good, too. The three characters play very different and that's really nice, because you can effectively reuse the level while giving the player something new to play. The collision with the enemies seems to be a bit unfair, sometimes. I experienced a little bug, where I got totally stuck on one of the platforms (the roof where some guys are walking on). Good job anyway!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:35pm

The graphics are just amazing! Wow, so much in 3 days! Are you going to finish it?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]