December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Deploy Your Chute

by Zambini - 48 Hour Compo Entry




*** Youtube video of gameplay (if you're unable to play)***

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tESEmCM9cLU



----------------------------------------------------------------
=======================================================================
Don't Deploy Your Chute
=======================================================================
A game by Ryan Andonian - @zambini845 - http://randonia.com
----------------------------------------------------------------

Summary:
Don't Deploy Your Chute is a game about falling. But don't worry,
you have a parachute! But just one, so don't go wasting it. The
objective of Don't Deploy Your Chute is to get as many points as
possible without dying. Each level, once you reach the end, you
have to decide to continue to the next level by going through the
hold in the ground, or land using your parachute. Once you land,
you end your run and save your points. If you die, you lose all
of your points.

How to run the game:
This game was built using Microsoft Visual Studio Desktop Express,
but it can be compiled into any system. It is written in C++ and
uses SFML-2.1 (http://www.sfml-dev.org/).

Windows:
1) Contained in this zip file are two folders. Debug and Release.
Unless you have problems running the game, choose Release.
Run "DontDeployYourChute.exe"

If you encounter an error that says "Unable start because
MSVCR110.dll is missing from your computer." you will have to
download and install Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2012
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679


Mac/Linux:
You will have to compile this yourself. I apologize for the trouble,
but I don't have a Mac and I don't have the time to build one on
Linux.


How to Play:
The goal is to get the highest score. The faster you go, the more points
you get. You can also get points by going through the hole in the ground
at the end of the level (which will start you on the next level) and by
picking up the bonus objects.

If you die, your score is lost. If you want to save your score, you must
land at the end of the level. You land by deploying your parachute. Keep
in mind the parachute takes some time to deploy, so you have to plan ahead.
Also, the parachute will fail 5 seconds after you deploy it, killing you.
(Hint: Deploy the parachute around when you stop seeing bonuses and spike
obstacles)

In-Game Controls:
[Arrow Key Left/Right] - Move Left/Move Right
[Arrow Key Up/Down] - Reduce Speed/Increase Speed
[Space] - Deploy parachute
[P] - Pause Game
[F] - Toggle FPS
[Escape] - Close game

Other controls will be displayed on screen for menu navigation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:29am

fun simple game. Liked the "try to land or gamble for another level" mechanic. Starts off a little too difficult, getting that first landing took 6-7 tries.

Enneract says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05am

Awesome work. I enjoyed the background gradient way more than I should have.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Man this game made me very angry(that's good, the Battletoads kind of angry you keep trying)! I just had to retry until I landed! Good job!

Scifer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:17am

Nice job. Our game went for the 'one parachute' theme too, but yours has much better pace to it. :D

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:18am

Great game after you get used to the controls.

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:23am

I don't know if I'm just tired or if this is scrolling a bit fast, but it kindof hurts my eyes.. Controls feel really good though!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I couldn't play it, It's missing a dll (MSVCR110). Perhaps I should have visual studio installed, but it should be an way to have the dll inside the game folder.
Through the video the game seems nice tough.

Zambini says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:04pm

@joserodolfofreitas That dll is the Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2012. You don't need VS installed, just the redistributable
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

I think you might get tagged with this? I'm not sure how the comment system works. I'll also try to message this somehow.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Hey, now I've played(and rated) and can say that the game is potentially fun. The bouncing on the "walls" was a little bit weird though, but the difficult was well balanced and could be easily transformed on a mobile game that is played with the accelerometer.
The c++ implementation might have some problems though. It was consuming a lot of CPU and it reached 215mb or ram consumption.

I would also suggest(if you plan to go ahead with the game) to add other features, like handling wind and adding a landing mechanic.

SamH says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:31am

If you’re interested, I built a Linux binary you can get here: http://people.zoy.org/~sam/tmp/DontDeployYourChute.tar.gz

I also added a Makefile and fixed a few include issues in the code so that you just need to type "make" to rebuild it.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Hard as hell but I kept me coming back to try again. Music got irritating fast though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]