December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Present

by gingerBill - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have been very naughty this year and
Santa was only going to get you an orange
and a piece coal. However, he accidentally
dropped a present into your possession and
he doesn't want you to get it. So now he
is throwing rocks, coal, and oranges in
order to destroy it.

In order to win, you will need to protect
the present for 100 seconds!

Controls (in game)
Move Left - Press [Left] or [A]
Move Right - Press [Right] or [D]
Pause - Press [Escape]

Hope you enjoy the game and Merry Christmas from Ginger Bill (Ginger Games).

Video of gameplay:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n0PN1Gya3Dw


Requirements
Windows 7 (Maybe lower/higher have not tested)
Mac OS X 10.8+ (Mountain Lion) or 10.9+ (Mavericks) (10.7 does not work, confirmed by Shaun Lebron)
(If you compile it yourself, it will compile for Linux too but you need SFML and its dependencies)

OpenGL compatible GPU
13 MiB of drive space
512 MB of RAM (probably less)
Keyboard
Mouse (just to click the executable; thus not needed really)

Tools Used:

- Programming Language: C++
- Graphics Library: SFML 2.1
- Audio Library: SFML 2.1
- Image Editor/Creator: Photoshop CS5
- Music Editor/Creator: Garageband

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Audio3.14
#282Mood3.10
#309Graphics3.29
#375Humor2.53
#455Theme2.96
#478Fun2.88
#539Overall2.96
#965Coolness49%
#985Innovation1.75

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Well executed straight forward avoid-the-things-game. Liked the setting and graphics a lot. As most avoid-the-things-games it gets repetetive fast though :)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Very simple but you achieved your goal. Clean looking graphics, jolly audio, but not very strongly tied to the theme.

Bw2801 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

This game is really hard but I love it!

cappelnord says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice graphics. I also liked the synths/arrangement of the christmas carol.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Love the Christmas vibe! Game is a bit simple though.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

At first I thought it'd be easy.. I was wrong! Great work, well put together and festive!

Korwegian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Get's pretty hard, especially if you lose a few frames. Really fun though.

gingerBill says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

The game gets harder every 10 seconds. Sometimes after 80 s, it is nearly impossible. If you are having trouble with a loss of frames, try settings the VSync in the config file to FALSE.

taocayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57am

The graphics are tight. Fits the theme very well. I wish I could see what it's inside but it gets really difficult by the end!

Could have used a few sound clips of santa screaming things at you as he passes by ;)

bttf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01am

Nice game, graphics and audio go well together. Very well made. Game is simple but hard! I couldn't get past 45+ seconds and I tried for a while!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Confirming a segmentation fault on Mac OS X 10.7. 10.8+ indeed.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Simple game, nice consistent pixel style. Loved the christmassy vibe!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46pm

sweet pixel style ^^

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57pm

The christmas theme really made this game. Simplest gameplay possible, but executed to near perfection.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I think Danman9914 sums up my feelings quite nicely! That said I enjoyed it, and I know my 6 year old will too when I show her tomorrow

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Very neat and gets difficult.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Nicely done, simply but well implemented.

Tanser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]