December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Wall

by joppiesaus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: You need the XNA Framework for this!
One Wall! A game where you have only got one wall, and you have to survive as long as possible the horde of... (I don't know how it's called)

Controls:
- Mouse to point and shoot
- A & D to move up and down(which is useless but fun)

I'd like your opinions!
Have fun!

Timelapse(short): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BEzpa9GKbSc
Timelapse(long) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJOX0qBJMPk
Beta1 build : http://function1.nl/ld/LD28/LD28_OneWall_BETA1.zip
Beta2 build : http://function1.nl/ld/LD28/LD28_OneWall_BETA2.zip

Tools used:
- MSPaint & RealWorld paint
- Microsoft Visual Studio 2010
- Chronolapse for timelapse
- The Microsoft XNA Framework (C#)
- My cat

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#570Humor2.08
#663Fun2.63
#803Audio1.19
#842Theme2.22
#864Innovation2.25
#866Overall2.51
#881Mood2.10
#967Graphics1.71

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42am

It's quite difficult. Reminds me of Cookie Clicker for some reason. The idea is good, the implementation could use some polish (and audio).

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17am

It's awesome for such a small game. Managed to buy one of those guys to shoot with me, but keep missing the cars.

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17am

The first big wall falls really really fast !

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18am

Surprisingly challenging. Pretty good overall. Could of course use a bit of polish and would have wanted more theme orientation somehow. But the one wall thing worked aswell. The wall was gone pretty fast though.

The file size was a lovely change from downloading 10MB a piece games here.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:28am

I liked your entry.
But here is some critique:
- Do not quit the game on Escape without asking.
- Movement in horizontal direction would have been nice, even if it would have had no impact on gameplay.
- Some basic audio would have been nice.
- Gameplay progression worked rather well.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Yeah... it needed indeed some polishing, and sounds! I'd wish some new upgrades and stuff, and better gameplay. But next time better! Thanks for the opionions! :D

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Difficult and the graphics put me off a bit. I feel like it could work better if it had better graphics. It was fun, still!

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Fun, difficult but repetitive. I think the cars go too fast :p

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Very tough, my clicker finger got super tired, could use an autofire perhaps.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41pm

A tip I want to give you is adding some simple hit animations. A simple white frame and 2px knockback give a more solid feel to your bullet hits. Liked the game a lot!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I really like the wall placing. The game misses overall polish, but it's pretty solid for 48 hours. A bit repetitve though! However, good job.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Really difficult, but challenging. I thought "Lol, this car drove right past me" then I saw the game over screen :D
The upgrades could be a little bit cheaper, to see progress faster.
All in all nice work

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03pm

where the web wersion? Cool graphics!

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:55pm

The game was fun and I played it for quite a while over and over again because it was really difficult at first. Once I got the hang of it it was good though. The only big problem I saw was the lag. The farther I got in the game, the laggier the game got when I shot. But it was still very fun. Also, I fixed the link to my game so if you could try it, that would be awesome. Thanks!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01am

Super Hamster, you're right indeed! The lag and the difficulty is the biggest problem of the game. I may do a post-compo, with more stuff, better balancing and polishing, if people like it. Also, your game is fun too!
and 01rafael, the framework, XNA, doesn't support web. :(

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:09pm

It's difficult, but I like it. The store is a good addition :)

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:28am

interesting, but i would have made the wall a bit more durable since it's what the whole idea seems to be based on. i also kind of expected the cars to explode and kill the enemies in its blast radius, but that's probably just me ;)

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Difficult and fun game, nice job! ;)

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Cars are pain in the ass, but game is good overall!

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Fun small game. Got to the point where shooting caused my fps to drop like a stone, and from your source I can tell it's because each bullet check collusion with each enemy, and you spawn all the enemies right at the start so it gets heave to check all this collisions on the farther waves, try making a counter for how many more enemies you should spawn and decrease it with time, not all at once (you can't see the enemies anyway..)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:23pm

@Vladp995
I figured the same out! I should have coded it different like you said. However, in the collision code I have this piece:
if (pos.X <= 0 - tex.Width) continue;

That means I tell your computer that if the enemy is not visible(the X-axis is out of screen) the computer should skip that.
Which didn't fix any lag sadly. I figured that later out, I didn't had time in the compo. Thanks for the feedback thought! :D

somepx says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:27am

A fun little entry! My wall was smashed in a few minutes :P

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

My wall fell quite fast when the cars started coming, but I was surprised when that didn't end the game. Income felt quite slow, especially at the start, I would have liked to have some cheaper upgrades. I wasn't quite sure what bases did, even after I bought one. But it was pretty fun anyways.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

BluShine, the goal of the game is... keep the enemys as long as possible away from the right-hand side of your screen. A base will block them, it's a sort of wall, but then stronger.
I made some mistakes indeed you mentioned there. I had to balance it more.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

nice in the sense you got many things implemented so quickly in the time alloted. I wish it had sounds!! :D

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:40pm

A solid game. Did you considered to lower the prices respectively the money output so the player can experience a faster/earlier progression?

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Jeremias, I didn't really do that in the competition :P I realized that afterwards, but I didn't release a post-compo.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]