December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Hour, One Shot, One Way Out?

by Eskoala - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The zblorb runs in Gargoyle for Windows and fizmo for Linux / Unix. (apt-get install fizmo)

The easiest thing to do by far is to click the web link (again, untested except to see that it loads...)

The code was mostly tested in the Inform IDE for Windows owing to time constraints. Other options can be found from and .

As you'd expect, there are lots of things I'd have liked to finish that I didn't get round to, so the rooms and object actions are a little sparse. I like to think it adds to the atmosphere.

Warning: may contain mild peril, suicide, murder, and zombies.

Downloads and Links




whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Interesting, but suffers from a lot of trial and error due to not that many actions being supported and there not really being a guide for which to take.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I scored 11/11 points on my first run without actually seeing any zombies so I don't know if this was planned. Good for Sophie that she turned up on her own or I would have been forced to leave her behind.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Not a lot of the actions do stuff, and deciding not to shoot yourself still uses your cartridge.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52pm

You are carrying:
a Christmas tree
a box (open but empty)
a shotgun
a baseball bat
a robarbie
a keys
a television
a cushion

I'm not leaving my Christmas tree behind, but Sophie can go suck it.

Eskoala says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Thanks all. I've updated with some minor bug fixes (like the cartridge not disappearing when you change your mind)

tompudding says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I too finished the first time without any zombie action. Good atmosphere though, pretty spooky.

Anachron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18am

Nice writing and spooky atmosphere. A little easy to finish it but entertaining nonetheless!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I beat the game without ever meeting anyone except for Sofie. Nice mood though.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Poor Shopie... I enjoyed this game. I love that kind of games, but you would need some guide of action. Good work!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Fairly short and simple, but after having made an Inform game for the previous LD, I know how much work it takes. Props for implementing an NPC. The writing isn't flashy, but some of it is very good (especially the description of... *that* zombie). I'm not a big fan of zombie stories, but you've got a nice mood here. I also like the fact that there were several endings of varying happiness.

I got stuck for a while trying to get in the car. (I don't know about you, but if I were getting in a car in the middle of a zombie apocalypse with my only child, I'd close and lock the car doors first thing I did.)

Typoes: "a keys"; "gutteral" should be "guttural".

Other nitpicks: some rooms listed exists that you couldn't actually use (for example, going from the kitchen to the hall, or from the downstairs bathroom to the playroom), and the downstairs bathroom wasn't listed among the exits at all. (Not that it matters, since there was nothing important in there, but still.)

Other than that, and the difficulty with the car, nice work. Nothing groundbreaking, but an entertaining short horror game.

Possibly unintentional comedy point:


The fact that you can talk to Sophie after she's zombiefied, and the generally carefree nature of that conversation.

Eskoala says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:31pm

The conversation is a call back to a possible conversation you can have with her early on, with a slight difference from that one. So yes, it was deliberate :P It was also (sort of) on purpose that getting in the car was awkward because I felt that making the panic rise in the player at that point would be amusing, but it's probably not the best way to achieve it (particularly when there are other not-so-intentional frustrations...). Thanks very much for your comments.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Induced a state of mild panic at first, but I managed to escape without meeting any zombies.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:10am

This was very interesting, but I agree that the commands could use some clarification...

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Good fun playing a text adventure after such a long time. I managed to complete the game without being attacked by zombies.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]