December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Thirsty

by Pickle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions: Use WASD to move around.
Gather water from wells and avoid the cactus and coyotes that steal your precious water.
You must go toward the lake in the distance to win. Have Fun!

Also, I know it is lacking, but this my first entry and first Unity3d game, so cut me some lack, yes? Thank you! :D

EDIT: Added Linux and MacOS builds. I can't test them, so do tell me if you can't run them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#516Humor2.20
#534Mood2.70
#568Audio2.37
#718Graphics2.48
#802Fun2.39
#841Innovation2.30
#845Theme2.21
#901Overall2.45

Comments

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

Cute :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

Hmmm, the controls don't seem to work quite right for being just wasd. A little unintuitive. But I see it's you're first dare, and this is 10000x what my first dare entry looked like, hahaha so congrats! Welcome to the club ;)

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Not a bad first effort. My main grievance was that the wells only seemed to be around the starting area, and the lake is so far away.

Pickle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

I know what you mean, I thought about using mouse look controls. The original was going to be in 2d and movement is programmed for 2d. But as your see, it evolved into 3d. :s
Oh well, we live and we learn. Thanks :D

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51am

Nice effort on this entry you came along nice and have made something that was worth playing.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:40am

Pretty cool game! I was a couple steps from the lake and my water ran out.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48am

I thought the coyotes were cute until I learned they are vicious water-stealing brutes! Having a few more wells scattered about would have been good.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47am

I didn't really see any wells, but I did like that I gathered a pack of coyotes :D

Pickle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21am

@Alismuffin Ikr, Love just walking backwards and watch them. XD

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Do you could have focused more like a strategy game maybe? the idea of transporting water through the desert in the pot is interesting

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43am

Hah, very cute. I don't know why the lake was a big blue wall of water, but I'll take it.

Pickle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47am

@Switchbreak So you would know where to go. I tried to make a compass, but that failed. :c

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:33pm

i live fun game, good job well done

eli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Hi Pickle!! Congrats on your first entry!

I think the graphics really stand out in this game, because they are pragmatic and do the job well. It was very hard to tell how far away the lake was (and it was more like a giant blue blob?). I was also confused by the marine coyotes.

Perhaps a little terrain would help spice things up, as well as allowing you an easier way to show where the lake is. Check it out, really nice terrain tools are built into Unity.

In any case, good work. I look forward to seeing you around in the future.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:33am

Well this was pretty nice to play. The music volume was a bit too low, I think? Nice graphics, the controls were a bit stiff, but okay. And man, the wells were too sparse and most of the time I had no idea in which direction to find them. And OH, once I turned around and the the sheer number of those little coyotes was overwhelming xD

RhysD says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Good job, I made it to the lake!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I agree with most of the stuff everyone else said:
- The wells are too sparse
- The coyotes look cute
- It's a little disorientating navigating in a desert without reference points.
- The music volume is too low.
- This game is pretty fun!

Overall 4/5!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22am

Not very challenging. I just pointed myself to the lake and went. Like that the water went faster in the daytime than at night.

zequack says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Interesting game. I don't really get the relevance to the theme, but te idea is nice :)

Pickle says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:57am

@zequack, You only get one bottle of water.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I really enjoyed this. Very simple, but worth playing. Great job for your first LD.

ALobker says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Pretty straightforward :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]