December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Breathe

by ryanmurakami - Jam Entry

What does [You Only Get One] mean?

Breathe is a Visual Novel with 5 endings (1 Good, 4 Bad).

Instructions:
Click the text box & choices to proceed.
Play online or download, unzip, and open index.html

Built using VizNov.js, also completely written during LD28!

Tested in Google Chrome with 1680 x 988 resolution.

KNOWN BUGS:
Screens smaller than 1680 wide will have text running off the screen.
Doesn't work on Firefox in OSX

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#150Mood(Jam)3.28
#193Audio(Jam)3.10
#221Theme(Jam)2.90
#241Graphics(Jam)3.30
#276Humor(Jam)2.32
#312Overall(Jam)3.00
#351Innovation(Jam)2.63
#427Fun(Jam)2.43

Comments

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09am

Audio was really nice. Unique art style. I confessed, then got a game over

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:17am

Pretty cool! Really nice mood thanks to the atmospheric music and creepy plot progression. I was kinda disappointed that I seemed to die in a park for no good reason though :P

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21am

Audio was good. The good end seemed to leave me hanging, maybe continue the story or give a sort of epiogue text?

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:22am

Very eerie and moody. I liked the aesthetic

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23am

I liked it. Pretty interesting. I played through and got the Good Ending on the first run. I may have to play again and look for the others.

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

very nice!

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28am

Interesting, I confessed and ended up with the Good Ending. Woohoo! I win!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

Very nice game. :-)

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

Interesting choice in a game, I like the direction you took it. The in game audio was fine but was not a fan of the game over audio, it seemed to throw off the mood of the game.

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

Funny game! Like the detective game!

bakpakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:19am

I liked the watercolor-esque art, good storyline too.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

The text runs out of the box when you reach "This guy is being really pushy." as well as when the cop says, "Not carrying your ID is a felony" aaaaand a bunch of other places (lazy to type out now :P)

I feel like player interaction (other than clicking through narrative) would be welcome earlier in the game.

Audio in the menu would also be good.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46am

Nice, I think the art style is really cool.

floorman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Good game, although the seemingly random dying for doing some of the things feels a bit wrong.

But other than that I like the game, unique art style, good graphics and I love the soundtack. Very fitting.

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Took me a few tries, but I'm glad I got to the good ending. The story was interesting and I am left wanting to know more about MegaCorp and the experiment, and what became of the protagonist's wife. Nice work!

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:49am

i got it strait to the end the second time.

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:54am

wogh tempting, unfortunately I got bad ending :(
I think I will try again :D (hope have a good ending for this one)

Several says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:08am

You made the engine and the game in 72 hours? Nice work!

It doesn't seem to run in Firefox in OSX, though. The y-position of the initial buttons (+ text) seems to be outside of the container (and thus hidden), and if I hack around that,to press the button, the screen fades to black, but everything within the svg element that should fade in just stays hidden.

Otherwise, if you plan on continuing on the engine: I'd like it if I could click to make all of the text appear at once (since it appears so slowly), instead of always skipping to the next block. I think the usual click-'skip'-to-skip, click-anywhere-else-to-show-all approach is a rather considerate way of handling things.

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:54am

@Several
Thanks for the feedback!!! Yes, I'm going to keep it going. I think clicking to complete the text is a great idea. You can keep track on the engine here:
https://github.com/ryanmurakami/VizNov.js
Thanks!

occash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I think that dialogs was veery long and at the end I was boring. But idea is good)

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Very interesting! I admit I made nothing but wrong choices and kept going back to get a better ending. I finally got the good end :) This was really great, art style was unique and the music added to the mood.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice attempt at a graphic novel game, funtionally working which is something I can't say about a lot of submissions, well done.

Tanser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Really nice concept, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]