December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Straight Ahead

by Ipsio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game where you only get one direction in the same time (left or right), so be careful when you move and try to make the better score you can !
And care of the last level, it's very hard !

It was my first Ludum Dare (and my first "complete" game) and I'm rather proud of the result.
I hope that you enjoy my game.

If you play to the Web version, the loading may take few minutes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#81Theme3.72
#97Innovation3.65
#178Fun3.39
#179Overall3.45
#201Audio3.11
#326Mood3.00
#469Graphics2.98
#625Humor1.96

Comments

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice job. What's kind of object is the player in this game?

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Pretty rad! I like the idea of this game, makes you think about every move you make. The graphics were good, especially the background. Job well done sir!

Ipsio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Thank you ! The player is a kind of robot who need switch buttons to change direction. He just have a propulsion to move forward and jump.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Great concepts and plays well with good level design! Well done!

Loving the music too.

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Cool game with a simple mechanic. Liked it!

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Nice! Looks like we had similar ideas :D
Your character handles way better than mine though

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30pm

You said it's your first "complete" game : you can be proud, it's very enjoyable. Nice concept, nice execution, the game runs smoothly, levels are well conceived.
Well done !

ydg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:32pm

If you press Left-Right fast enough when restarting a level, you get to move in both ways as long as you don't press the switches. You might want to get that fixed.
Great job, anyways! Really good level design, nice music and art and solid gameplay. Quite challenging too!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Nice idea, it felt "clever" to try to get the coins that you can't get if you just run past. Definately a good first entry, really should be proud.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:11pm

The atmosphere and art are pretty good, but the movement is a bit odd. overall very good job.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Great Concept and Execution! The reuse and retreading of earlier parts of the level is interesting. Plays like a charm as well.

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice game, nice mechanic, nice gameplay. Gratz for your game :)

GameRespect says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

An beautifully put together game. I love the game mechanic and I love how tricky it can be sometimes. The visual aesthetic and music create this sort of carefree and fun mood. Excellent work dude!

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Really interesting puzzle concept and a well presented game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:26am

I liked the mechanic! It's a nice take on the theme, and fun!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35am

Good use of the theme. A fun puzzle game.

stromchin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:44am

I love the concept, actually very innovative compared to most of what I've seen!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Great stuff -- some pretty smart level design in here as well. I think it'd help if there was slightly less inertia (or more surface friction) on landing, as it's easy to slide slightly past as jump up when landing relatively straight.

evilDan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Great game - must have been a pain to testing for potential places to get stuck.

Nice work

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:15pm

An interesting concept, well done!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Nice idea to fit the theme. only one way to move... cool designed levels, good soundscape. Enjoyed playing ^^

Scifer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:32am

Nicely done! Although ... what is the character supposed to be?

xrm0 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:40am

Nice

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:18pm

One of the most fitting games to the topic I've seen now! And indeed the last level IS hard.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:12am

Very nice interpretation of the theme :) I enjoyed the mechanics. Well done!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:21am

Interesting mechanic that just went to show me how unnatural it felt. That is, I'd plan what I would do and then all of a sudden I couldn't do any or it so had to plan from scratch again, nice one!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Audio was sweet. Also, I like how you used the One Direction idea to make me actually have to think whilst playing a platformer. It was weird having some aircontrol, but when you commit to a jump that's it, you have to go for it.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:06pm

The gameplay make me dazed! I love it!! :D One direction, it's very frustrating to collect pieces :D The graphic design could be polished. However very good job! :D

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:11pm

I still haven't closed your game just because I'm listening to the music. Is there a download for it somewhere? :)

frogcheese says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Really polished game with a nice take on the theme. The background music was really good! The controls felt a little bit floaty, but far from the worst I've encountered.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nice concept - nice game!

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:56pm

A well executed simple idea. Good work.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:51am

Very well done! Good job!

Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Wow a pretty great idea for the theme, works really well and makes you actually think before you move if you want to try and collect everything, and doesn't stay too easy :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]