December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Scrap Armageddon 2000

by Chompson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A fascinating game about dangers of space. Includes physics.

There is a new threat in space and only you can save everyone from it. You are armed with an object manipulator and a jetpack, but sadly - you only get one second of thrust from it. Will you be able to succeed?


I'm not sure about Linux and Mac versions working, but the Windows one was tested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#330Graphics3.25
#335Innovation3.14
#659Mood2.53
#667Audio2.06
#733Overall2.73
#742Humor1.65
#867Theme2.14
#882Fun2.24

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Im a little lost about what to do. It looks good, any tips? :)

Chompson says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:07pm

The aim of the game is to collect scrap - there are some wrecks around your ship. Basically - jump on a wreck from your ship, steal precious fuel, throw scrap at your ship to collect it, repeat until you win. (or get stranded in space without fuel)

Some other tips here:
1. You can maneouver for free in your collection box, won't spend any fuel.
2. Conserve your fuel, always! Use only when you really need it. You can always use the secondary fire on your manipulator to move around if there are objects close.
3. There is plenty of fuel in the wrecks, grab it with LMB to refill your tank. You can also return to your ship for a refill.
4. Pieces of scrap normally give you 10 points, but there are some special ones for 20 (mostly doors, huge pieces of metal)
5. Best way to get the scrap back to your ship is to grab it with LMB and get just a little bit of velocity in the direction of your ship. Then let go and the first law of motion will take care of the rest. Stabilize afterwards and do this with the rest of scrap.
6. It might be a little hard to notice the wrecks from your ship, try looking for the green outlines of fuel cans.
7. If you're lost as to where your home ship is, take a look at the radar on top of your screen.
8. Keep in mind the third law of motion - if you're moving with a piece of scrap in hand, you can always launch it with your RMB to get a boost in the opposite direction.

Chompson says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Just did a little update.

Adjusted lighting so it's a little easier to actually see.
Intro scene automatically skips to main menu after 30 seconds. Or just press space to skip it.

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:33am

It has cool 3D graphics and a menu interface. I just have no idea what I'm supposed to do. A little bit too complex. A tutorial level would be nice.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35am

I find myself flying off of the ship constanttly. I don't see how this fits the theme either.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36am

Good but bad but good, I found myself unable to really play probly just me being bad at games but it was defently something.

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01am

It's definitely not an easy game, since it's really easy to just go flying into space. The game looks really good and it really feels like space

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55am

How does this fit the theme? Some cool physics going on, but other than that, it's bit hard.

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03am

Very nice graphics, and a great concept. I found it very difficult to control, though (maybe that's the point, you're in space after all).

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29am

I guess somemone went to the movies lately ;) Nice idea, I'm always amazed that some devs go for 3D in a jam

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

Very fun but slightly confusing at the start.. Some music would really enhance the mood!

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57am

This is a nice take on the theme although very difficult. After a few attempts I managed to get an object back to my ship, then realised it was fuel and not scrap (oops). Hard to tell if the game is too difficult or just has a steep learning curve, but I enjoyed failing nonetheless.

Thingus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59am

I found it tricky at first, but once I got the hang of maneuvering, it was pretty good :-) I like that you can 'improvise' thrust by chucking debris around if you need to.

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13am

I find this game incredibly confusing. The controls are bonkers.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Wow, that was pretty intense, I agree that the controls are hard but honestly, if you think ahead before doing too much motion it's not that tricky, and hey, it's realistic! I would've liked up/down strafe as well though. Very challenging but well done game. I love the intensity of feeling lost in space.

Chompson says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Spacebar and left control works for up/down controls, just FYI.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Bit too difficult perhaps.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:06pm

One of the best entries:) I love physics based games.

caranha says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:07pm

That is an interesting idea. I guess this is what happens after you start throwing too much trash around Kerbin's orbit :-)

That said, it felt a bit hard to figure out where I was. The viewport felt a little claustrophobic, and when I grabbed a piece of scrap, it was really hard not to bounce with other scrap pieces and to figure out where the base was.

Also, 1 second is a bit too short :-)

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

tomc says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:28pm

I have no idea how Sandra Bullock managed to do this. That was hard!

samooJAM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Many nice ideas in it e.g. the velocity meter. Enjoyed it. Graphics and audio could be improved, not too bad though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]