December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1837

by fizzhog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A staggeringly hyperreal re-enactment of the duel between Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin and Georges-Charles de Heeckeren d'Anthès.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1571Coolness22%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Two days later, I did of injuries :P lol nice game ! Cool use of the theme.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I'm not sure I truly understood this. However, what was with the characters moving after I pressed right?

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Game should be faster, I want to try if there is any way to not get shot but it take too much time. It feels like all movement is automatic.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:30pm

hm, avast stops me from downloading, says is a virus in the file, or from the source. you may want to look into that.

fizzhog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Unfortunate. Don't really see there's anything I can do other than assure you that it's a false positive. All that's in the zip file is the exe file made by Game Maker Studio and the Game Maker source files. Don't use Avast myself. AVG has no problem with it.

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I like this kind of game. You know, the kind of game where you're not sure whether you're Pushkin or not, and then it becomes clear but then it's too late because you're dead. Please make more games, I enjoy your work.

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:16pm

NB : "George's" name does not display on my screen (I'm under windows 8, 1920x1080), I can read only Alexander

Warzone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:16pm

I think it has a pretty interesting concept, and I like the sketchy art... But it's just missing somthing?

fizzhog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:25pm

In case anyone else has the same problem as kristoffer, I've uploaded a version without the source files in case something there was causing the problem. Can't think of anything else to do as I know nothing about such things.

www.fizzhog.com/downloads/1837_no_source.zip

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:09pm

This game was SOOO slow for me. Maybe I wasnt doing it right... I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/gDU0zbWgNj8

Daveloper says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:47pm

This game confused me, the input didn't correspond to any actions on the screen, the slow pace didn't captivate my interest.

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:17am

XD A charming game, like always.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:52pm

solid game, a bit slow for me though

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]