December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Our Story

by CarlsonAndPeeters - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two unlikely companions enter an ancient cave. What they find might not be what they seek.

How does it relate to the theme? We'll have to see for ourselves...

Controls:
WASD = Move Wizard
Arrow Keys / IJKL = Move Thief
Space = When both characters are at the end, proceed to the next area
R = Reset Level
(you should not need to reset unless there is a bug in the level)

This has been my first Ludum Dare. Crazy frantic fun 48 hours.
Engine: Unity
Language: Javascript
Graphics: Photoshop
Music: bfxr and Otamata


Bug Notes:

Some people have noted a bug in a room with 7 torches (door not opening/torches needing to be lit in a certain order). I have not been able to repro this issue. If it happens try resetting the level (R) or if you know repro steps please let me know.

There is a bug involving pressure plates that I couldn't quite pin down. If they stop functioning, you may need to reset the level (R). But it is rare and tends to happen only if you step on and off pressure plates really quickly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#37Mood3.85
#72Overall3.74
#109Fun3.53
#113Theme3.63
#176Innovation3.44
#438Audio2.64
#555Humor2.12
#674Graphics2.58

Comments

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

Loved the game! The theme was rising. It become more and more apparent as the game progressed. Just as a I was ready to stop playing I hit the apex of the games story. Well crafted and well designed! My only concern is the repetitive music and the graphics. Other than those two things the game is very nice!

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I read that as "an aging programmer" first. :D But this is really fun, love it! As cbear_wallis said, the music is a bit repetitive and the graphics could use some work, but you really have something there!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:37pm

i liked it.. i thought controlling two at the same time would be a pain but it was fun and surprisingly easy :)

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Outstanding! Excellent design and great use of the theme. I totally enjoyed playing this - well done!
One small thing - bug in the room with 7 torches. I needed to light the end ones before the first ones for some reason.

Apart from that was great - excellent use of mechanics and minimal writing to tell a story.

ydg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Fantastic level design and good use of the theme. Nice way of telling the story as well. Had a great time with it. Good job!

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Nice story. Unfortunately, in room "With the scroll in my hands I can change the world" wall did not disappear after the all torches were lighted.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I tried running it on Linux (Fedora 19 64) but after clicking "ok" on the screen resolution widows, it just closes and returns to the console with no error messages...

Zephyr89 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Now, those were some tough choices.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Fun game. Nice take on the theme!

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Superb game design, my only grip is I accidentally got stuck in the *SPOILERS* room where you pick scroll or gold, and I got neither.

garygreen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I really liked the co-op aspects of this to solve the puzzles and also how you used the theme too.

Anoarith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Wow best game I've rated so far. Really nice job. Nice mix of mood and game design.

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Hey nice game, with cool and clever level design. It would be funnier with another person though :P

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Fun little game, mechanically very sound. I like your fire animation :)

Music gets a teensy bit repetitive, but by far the best repeating music I have come across.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18am

Hit quite a few bugs during my playthough (buttons that you could only hit with both characters standing on them, level that wouldn't complete even though both players were standing at the end). The level design was really good though and the mechanics were intuitive.

moosiejack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

I thought that this was really fun to play. Easily my favorite among all of the games I have played so far. Great combination of animation and game design.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27am

Graphics weren't amazing, music was irritating, BUT! The story was great. Great work! :)

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I liked the feeling of controlling multiple characters at the same time

ALobker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:08pm

The harsh reality when you betray someone you need.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I'm not the puzzle type, but this was entertaining! Great story/mood!

mystakin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:23am

This game is awesome. Like... "I should tell my other gamer friends about this" awesome. It was the right length, told its story well, and managed to connect with me. Well done!

I may have encountered a bug, though? The room with the scroll and the chest, I moved on without grabbing either item and it said I grabbed the scroll.

Joror says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Very smooth learning curve, nice story telling.

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Really moody and engaging - the text led me through brilliantly and really imparted emotion into proceedings - I was a bit gutted about the ending! One of my favourites this LD

cardboard says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:53am

Great length and tells a nice story. I was able to reproduce the bug a few times by getting the top torch then the bottom torch in the first room and then getting the second room's torches in a 'Z' shape (top-left, top-right, middle, bottom-left, bottom-right). Hopefully this helps. Nice job on the game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]