December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Click Click Cat

by GravityScore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**About**

You are a cat. Born in a world full of cats.
These cats are a bit different from normal cats.
All of them have only one of everything.
One eye. One leg. One arm. One lung. One ear. One foot.

But you are different.
You have two.

As you can imagine, lots of people are jealous.
Lots of people HATE you just for being different.

In addition to this, you have cake.
And they don't have cake.
So they decided to steal your cake.

You must fight using your trusty cat beam to retrieve each of your 6 pieces of cake back from the one thinged monsters!

**Controls**

WASD or Arrow Keys to move
Mouse move to aim your cat beam
Mouse click and hold to fire it
The enemy cats will drop health, beam charge, and cake!

**Notes**

For my first ever game beyond the basic pong and tetris, I'm really happy with this! Especially since I made it in my first LD. The gameplay is very unoriginal, but I like the art, and the aim of the game has a certain aspect of cuteness. It has almost nothing to do with the theme though :P

This has been a very fun and inspiring experience which I hope to participate in more of. I have a multitude of game ideas I want to make now, and the much needed motivation.

Was this game worth the hours I put in to write it? Probably not. But this feeling I have probably isn't the game's fault - it was my lack of creative thinking and planning to see whether my original idea was going to turn out well. If I learned anything from this, it's that complete planning and rapid prototyping are so important when making a game. The experience and motivation gained from the competition was totally worth it though.

Best of luck to everyone in the results, and for the remaining 4 hours of the compo and 28 hours for the jam!

The sunrise outside my window is nice. I should go to sleep.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Graphics4.21
#205Humor3.05
#521Overall2.98
#545Mood2.69
#557Theme2.76
#690Innovation2.60
#739Fun2.50
#766Audio1.38

Comments

angryfacing says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:33pm

This is awesome! I love the art style and who doesn't like cake and cats?! Haha.

Great game though.

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

Really enjoying the art style here! Great work!

Go cats! :D

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:57am

Really amazing art style. Could have used better controls/feedback when doing things (particles, etc). Other than that good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00am

Hm.. Awesome graphics!

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02am

Charming art style, and the whole intro and world gives a very nice polished feeling. With some audio, this would have been much more immerse, and perhaps some animations :).

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46am

The art and colours are where this one shines. Needs audio as well as animations!

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Thanks for all the nice comments on the art! Since the end of the LD, I've done some searching on audio generation (since I can't compose game music at all) and found this really nice website for ambient sounds: http://mynoise.net/noiseMachines.php, but you're required to pay to download the sounds. This one is good for music in general: http://labs.dinahmoe.com/dynamicmusicengine/, but again, no download link. If anyone has any other free music generator websites, please post the link :). I should've just added some sfx with sfxr...

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Dear sir, I found your game to be extremely oppressive towards the single-limbed feline folk. How dare you strut around on your two limbs while every other cat have to suffer through life with only one leg, one eye, one ear and one nostril. HOW DARE YOU.
Great game btw.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I like this simple cute isometric style. On the other hand gameplay is repetitive just after moment. The cake is a lie! :-D

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Great iso graphic! Intro screens are very well made too. Gameplay is simple but well made. Good!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Graphics are gorgeous, gameplay, not quite as much sadly.

After I used up my laser to kill 3 cats I just had no laser anymore... I presume more was meant to be dropped so I could pick some up? Made it kind of impossible to play sadly. Best graphics I've seen in a LD game for a while though.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Awesome graphics!

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Art style is awesome, but the controls are weird and the gameplay isn't really interesting...

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Cool graphics dude ! I found the controls kindda hard to deal with though.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I love isometric games! Unfortunately, the controls and collisions were a bit sticky, but it was quite fun all the same. Could have done with some animations though.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

The art style is absolutely amazing! I really enjoyed it.

Constructively, some audio and some feedback when killing the horrible cat-freak monsters would lend to greater enjoyment.

Excellent work! :)

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Great graphics, and an interesting way to use the theme.

Oli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Graphics are realy well done. It's great for a first LD

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Amazing art style. More feedback to the player in the game would be ideal but otherwise great job!

zhugolaf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

good game !

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:25pm

very nice. Interesting concept and graphics.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Cool art and great design overall.

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I love the art style, however the first time I played the first cat I lasered didn't drop anything and i didn't have anymore charge. Is there some laying around somewhere?

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Beautiful!

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Art style is super pretty, I was awful at lazering cats though.

Aske says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

Very funny game. It sometimes bugs out and wont let you move, but i dunno if thats just me being bad at these type of games :P. Anyway the graphics look awesome. Keep it up

Michcioperz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08am

Well, it's really nice! I like the graphics, the style, it's really a pretty cool game :)

Brodenino says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:49am

If you are looking for procedurally generated music, http://www.abundant-music.com/ is one way to go. It does export midi however, so you need audacity and stereo mix to record it, or something similar to convert it to wav.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51am

Great isometric style graphics. Simple gameplay but fun for a quick play. Very good job for a first LD. Well done!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Nicely done. Especially the graphics.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Great art! I'm glad my cats aren't giants.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18pm

I really like the art and the isometric style. Also cats for bonus marks! :)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Collision gets really gnarly around the houses, but nice concept and cool art.

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I like these graphics so much :)
would be nice if the intro was skippable

Cipher says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:33am

Cats + cake. Best combination yet

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:37pm

tun forest! run!

funny game, beautiful art!

nicely put!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Really lovely graphics. Super funny game. :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:34am

Great style, very unique.

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I dig the art style and the story (all glory to the cake!).
Gamewise - it would be nice if the collisions worked a bit better, I was constantly losing the cake just because I bumped the house :/

Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

cool graphics, very difficult, 12 kills high score.

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:10am

Hilarious premise and gameplay!

kcpunk666 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Great job. Fun stuff.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Gorgeous clean cut art style. Rated highly. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]