December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Vita

by Ludusamo - Jam Entry

"You are a person thrown into a crazy world with nothing but a vegetation growing rock, the world is a scary place with puzzles that lead you astray, but you must conquer the world of Vita. Players embark on a journey to face the unpredictable world, Vita."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1571Coolness22%

Comments

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56am

linux only? brave man haha

jjc180 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35am

Hey I get this in terminal: ./Vita: error while loading shared libraries: libsfml-audio.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Inside the zip the system links come up as "link to unknown"

How can I get it to run?

Ludusamo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Trying to port it to windoes. Should be up ssoon. And I will fix that up too. Thanks for the report :)

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:15am

I'm afraid I don't have Linux so I can't give the game a shot. It looks nice though. I do enjoy me some RPG Maker games and its nice to see what looks like puzzles.

Ludusamo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Thanks! Its not RPG Maker though its SFML with C++ Thanks for taking the time to comment though :)

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:01am

Hey I appreciate people making games for GNU / Linux, I will try to get this running when I'm back in Xubuntu.

tomc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:36pm

> Hey I get this in terminal: ./Vita: error while loading shared libraries: libsfml-audio.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I got this problem initially as well. After prefixing the command with LD_LIBRARY_PATH=. I got this:

[tomc@hal Vita - LINUX]$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH=. ./Vita
./Vita: error while loading shared libraries: libGLEW.so.1.8: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Ludusamo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Thanks ReactorScram, and tomc I think that that is because you do not have GLEW installed on your computer but I am checking into it right now. Thanks for leaving a comment :)

Moosefly says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I don't know how the other versions play, but the Windows version is _very_ buggy. Might be the timestep acting up; the game played at probably 5 times the intended speed, and I just skipped most of the doors because I found out I could throw the rock over objects that probably should've blocked it. Too bad the game crashed when I threw the rock outside of the playing area :P.

The button state should've also been reseted when the game state changes. I didn't get to read any of the "victory texts" because the game thought I wanted to skip them as soon as they started.

Props for going at it with C++ and SFML ;).

Ludusamo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:31am

Ah yup ^ I was afraid that would happen. My buddy had that bug on one of his computers for Linux, but on both of mine and one of his it didn't have that bug BUT when I ported it to windows it did. Thanks for the tip, I know that I need to get porting down for the next LD ^_^;;;

occash says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:21pm

I had some problems:
1) I don't know how to put the key
2) movement was very fast and abruptly
Good idea overall)
Thank you!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:10pm

running it on win 8. for some reason, I have a feeling that nothing works.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I felt like my controls on Windows gone crazy. It was unpleasant to play with it, yet I rated 4/5 for Overall :)

Tanser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:04pm

The running is extremely fast.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]