December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stan's Happy Thoughts

by sliphtrex - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry: it may not look as fancy as some of the other games I've seen here, but I'm happy with it.

Awesome topic; awesome ideas; awesome experience overall.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#409Humor2.45
#698Audio1.92
#854Mood2.17
#932Graphics1.92
#948Fun2.00
#954Theme1.88
#988Overall2.04
#994Innovation1.58
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

sliphtrex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:33am

As I'm sure you'll notice, something went severely wrong upon uploading the game to Kongregate. I can assure you the problem is with the upload not the game itself and I am doing everything possible to try and fix this issue.

sliphtrex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08am

Please disregard that last comment. Apparently my computer just likes to mess with me at times of extreme stress. I tried it on a different computer and it worked fine.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

wut

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38am

Not quite sure what this is, but I played it!

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37am

Oh no, by frown was turned after 240 demons attempted to turn it!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

Poor Stan... : [

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05am

Its cool that you did an intro with a voice over. But the game itself is pretty shallow. And sprites can have glitches sometimes, like black borders.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02am

weird, I like it. Refine the movement and I could of found my self playing it longer. Good job!

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:19am

Poor Stan :(

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22am

Awesome first attempt at LD!

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:54pm

The voice over bit adds this wonderful absurd mood to the game.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:28am

High score : 256 !
Nice job, pretty cool intro music :)

murilo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Can stan win? Poor alien! hehe the story is pretty funny and the gameplay is too simple but fun enough!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]