December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Virtual Sniper Trials

by ZXeno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a sniper trainee set sometime in the distant future. You train in a virtual environment, which has proven to be far superior to traditional methods.

Controls:
W-A-S-D for movement.
Mouse for view rotation.
Right-Mouse to enter scope.
Left-Mouse to fire.

Red Capsule is your goal target. Gray cylinders are enemy snipers. Blue cylinders in your base are teleporters. You have 1.5 seconds to get your shot off before the enemy snipers take their shot (They are bloody accurate!). Good luck!

Tools/APIs/etc used:

as3sfxr: (http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/)
Audacity
Visual Studio 2012
Unity3D
NGUI for Unity
ProBuilder 2.x for Unity
Paint.NET
Diet Coke
Starbucks
Coffee Pot
Lots of sleep.
Sheer determination.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#389Fun3.00
#399Graphics3.11
#453Mood2.83
#465Overall3.04
#631Theme2.63
#678Audio2.04
#685Humor1.83
#726Innovation2.54

Comments

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

This had a nice flow to it, and the subtle things like timers and distance markers fleshed it out. Well done.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49am

Your Linux build is broken.

The .rar is not a .rar

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53am

The controls were a little wonky but it's a really cool game. I really enjoyed moving level to level to find my target and the timer was a good idea.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59am

@HeroesGrave I recompressed it in a ZIP format and corrected the download link. Give it another shot and see if that fixes it!

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:16am

The link is wrong, but I changed it and fixed it.

Change it from
http://signalreceived.com/LD28/LD28.html/LD28_Linux.zip
to
http://signalreceived.com/LD28/LD28_Linux.zip

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:19am

Okay, it worked, but it was so slow it was unplayable.
I'll just leave it unrated for now. (apart from graphics, which were nice)

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40am

Okay, turns out all Unity games are running crap for me.
I'll give it another go tomorrow on my Windows Desktop.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56am

Ah, thanks. I fixed the link (again). Sorry to hear the Unity games aren't running well on your *nix box. Hope you find out what's causing it!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Nice entry, the level design reminded me of Face 3 classic on ut2k4, best map to snipe everyone and be snipped too :D

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50pm

...wait I know that map! :D

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Really well done.

travislucia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Good fun, seems like a unity fps style game have very high sensitivity. Good game, would have liked it if it were more obvious on the death countdown.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Nice game. Pretty fun to play. Like the semi-random enemy spawns. Very unforgiving but in a well-designed way.

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Really fun to play. Though sometimes it would not spawn the enemy and I'd just sit there waiting. Nice graphics!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Once I figured out that the enemy was a red barrel and also that he could spawn on any floor (and I could go to the top floor!) the game really opened up. Really skillful, great job!

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00am

Great fun! Really enjoyed the concept and the gameplay, especially the teleporting levels (reminded me of a specific Unreal tournament map...).

There might be an issue with getting on the top level and aiming down. I'd "miss" the enemy when it was in my crosshairs. Could be an odd raycasting issue.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

It worked better on Windows for me.

Nice game.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02am

Good fun target shooting game. Reminded me a bit of that old 8bit Sentinel game from the eighties. I seemed to have more than 1.5 seconds to shoot.

Raphy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47am

Hey, it looks like "Facing worlds" from UT99 ! Nice game.

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33am

Yeah this is very fun, and the facing worlds nostalgia tops it :D

ZXeno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46pm

@ashen Yea, I bumped the enemy snipers up from 1 second, to 1.5 seconds to 3 seconds for balance purposes. I forgot to change the wording when I posted the description. I'll probably change it when I have more time later.

@Raphy && @cwkx - Facing worlds was my inspiration. I did it completely from memory. I would have put more detail into it if I'd had more time. I think it turned out pretty well, and obviously the reference was clear enough for at least some people to get! :)

ZXeno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:47pm

And thanks everyone for the kind words! I'm thinking I might continue working on it as a continuing project. Let me know what you think at my blog: http://www.signalreceived.com/

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

The web build at least was too laggy for me to play well.

This reminds me of a certain multiplayer map in Unreal Tournament QUITE a lot...

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Interesting take on theme. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]