December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Protoport

by Und[0]ne Devs - Jam Entry

After we finished our first game, we decided to join the Ludum Dare to test ourselves as a team. Here we leave our review about this weekend.


Pepe, developer. (@mrwizardpepe):

"If this works, I'll coming in your face, Arturo"

"My main goal was to finish the game in such a limited time with my team mates. Also, seventy-two hours without masturbation were a handicap when it comes to developing a game with intact mental faculties, hahaha."

Arturo, developer. (@Arthurullo):

"Leave me alone, I'm fixing bugs!"

"My aim at join this LD was to prove our skills at working as a team. But the time I enjoyed the most was spying my team mates at their sleeps."

Jesus, designer. (@jessxxi):

"I'm going to design some backgrounds... just let me get high"

"I think the experience has been positive because of the next the reasons:
1. We ate very well and healthy.
2. We didn't kill each other.
3. We finish the game."

Pedro, designer. (@pedro_donate):

"Don't touch my... models!"

"To me, finish the game wasn't the main goal. The main goal was to know how many days can a man survive eating Twix, chocolate cookies, and Kinder Delice.
I'm really happy with the game, and, of course, with my dear team mates."


"Protoport" is a game where you'll try to beat over sixty levels that shows up aleatory with only one power up: Teleport.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#105Innovation(Jam)3.34
#174Audio(Jam)3.18
#177Overall(Jam)3.28
#208Fun(Jam)3.03
#209Humor(Jam)2.57
#269Graphics(Jam)3.21
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#305Theme(Jam)2.65

Comments

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15am

Nice job!

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27pm

The teleporting is awesome, but it is a little clunky

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28pm

fun game, trying to teleport super fast everywhere doesn't end well most times.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

The music is great! (Not that the rest of the game isn't, but the music stood out). The mechanic is also very cool, but I found it hard to get used to - I kept teleporting just into an obstacle

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Fun idea, it just needs a little polish

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Cool game, the graphics are neat, I like the way you introduce us to the command, the tutorial zone. Great work!

drentsoft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I like it.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Nice game, I like the concept.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Visuals look quite polished and I love the teleportation mechanic. Game was a little difficult for me though, and I'm usually good at this sort of thing!

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I like it. Using the teleporter to get around objects was more fun than I expected.

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice idea, the teleport is very fun, but the character speed is quite slow i think.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Really neat idea, but way too difficult to maneuverer the teleportation device.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

OMG I thinks it's awesome to make things in 3d. I can't work in 3d. Only Vectors as you see in our game. Yours is realy fun and I am a big teleport fan :) So you have my Stars :D

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:06am

Wow... that's hard. Especially these thumpers keep killing me >:[
Cool game!

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:07am

Similar to portal in the concept. I really enjoyed the randomization of the levels, however some sort of way to track your achievement would be nice, like a score.

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:22am

I found it to be fairly difficult but a pretty interesting game mechanic. Nice job particularly on the music.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42am

Ah the squeezer is killing me every time.. Fun Game! I Like the audio.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:02am

The game idea is very good. Very hard game! I felt frustrated very fast.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13am

Very hard to play, didn't manage to pass more than one trap. :) I think I just need a bit more practice
It's fun though, nice job)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:19am

good job! in my opinion little too hard at the beggining....maybe you should decrease amount of obstacles?

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:20am

Nice mechanic and nice game :D

zebi24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33pm

This is a very good entry! Fun and very difficult. I find it very innovational. Good job on variety of obstacles.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:04pm

A highly interesting concept. Actual gameplay seemed a bit rough around the edges, but the music was fantastic.

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:48pm

That was a cool concept with the teleporting.
Graphics and sound are good as well.
The levels look to be random. Sometimes I had the feeling that it was impossible to do.
Or maybe I'm not good enough :)

angelejo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Papeco is a n00b!!!!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Very cute idea, could be a great game with some polish.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Awesome game mechanic, but so very hard to survive. Great work!

hnjslater says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Great concept, Great execution.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Really cool idea guys. The level random generation is a really cool feature, and I think it's fun you gave the option whether to retain your momentum or not.

In regards to the "Fishmaster" section, was that a reference to the old Wishmaster Misheard Lyrics video from Kewen in '06?

bitserum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Fun and a neat idea but I found it too hard.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:36am

Os aplaudo la idea, pero os habéis colado tela con la dificultad, pero eso no es necesariamente malo. Me ha gustado bastante, el dummie muy gracioso, la canción la hubiera preferido en loop en lugar de que empezara cada vez y el 1,2,5 oops 3, lo habría puesto más corto. Pero vamos, un gran trabajo!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:02pm

hard as hell, but fun. like @scoobyben i also kept teleporting into obstacles. maybe less randomness to the obstacles, and more easy ones in the beginning?

and btw, i fixed the bug in my game, so there shouldn't be any problem with it now. thanks for playing it!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:36pm

The puzzles are nicely done and this is fun to play.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:49pm

The control it isnt too obvious but the idea is very original, easy to understand but difficult to domain, nice job!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Thanks to all for playing and rate the game :D
We'll try to answer some comments as soon as we have time!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:36pm

@scoobyben
Thanks! Our musician is very glad with your comments :D

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:38pm

@Nazariglez
Muchas gracias Nazarí!
Al principio iba más rápido, pero no pasaba de dos niveles, jajaja

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:38pm

@AtomicVikings
Thanks AtomicVikings ^^

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:39pm

@KumoKairo
Well, you can solve it playing more time =P

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:41pm

@JacksGamesSucks
Our idea was to include 3 levels of difficulty, but time was running out D:

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:44pm

@goerp
I tell you the same I tell to @KumoKairo , hahahaha

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:48pm

@Alex Rose
Let the video show itself =P
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gg5_mlQOsUQ

We are very pleased you get the easter egg, there are a lot, try to find them :D

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:06am

A wee bit frustrating, but a very fun and interesting game.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Cool concept! I found it really difficult, although good fun!

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Good graphics and sounds!! The concept is interesting!

Therrato says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:33pm

looks good, would be a bit nicer that if the ball would curve down. so it gets easier to see where you will land. any ways really well done.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Excellent presentation and concept. Music is particulary good. Took me a while to work out the teleportation controls but when I got it the hang of it was fun (but tricky). Good job!

dementor561 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:33am

its ok

eskivor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:57am

The teleport feature is cool but so easy to die !

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Hard and annoying at start, but when you get a hang of it i's very fun. Good work.

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Pretty nice, but I found it hard to get past many things -- some obstacles take up half the screen, and some like the lasers you need to warp past, but the thing you shoot moves slowly, and because you are teleporting half a screen forward, you are introduced to new dangers instantly which, now being close to you, are very hard to overcome. Otherwise you have a fairly polished piece of work here. Also, I loved the little guy's running animation.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Liked the concept, could certainly do with seeing more of that - it's a lovely twist on the endless runner! Controls could do with some refinement. I'd really prefer to have the game instantly reset near a challenge instead of having to wait a few seconds as we travel to the first crusher. More! (Oh, and nice work on the sound and presentation. The text effect is a nice touch...!)

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:38am

Fun to play! But SO HARD!!
I'm not sure I get how is this game related to the theme... but what the hell it's so fun :P

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:31pm

This is really innovative, but immensely difficult! Nevertheless, great effort!

Alink says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:28pm

I like the idea and the execution is good but I am very bad a this game and can't get far :(. I suspect that it's because it needs a lot of anticipation and the traps change each time (usually it's a good thing, but here it's evil)

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Is this meant to work on Linux? Because it doesn't for me.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:35am

Loving the saws, very Super Meat Boy. ^_^ Rated highly. :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:40am

Pretty awesome game you have here :)
I love it

nicotr014 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:09am

Awesome idea, has potential

Nelien says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Really cool concept and very well executed; my only problem with was the very steep learning curve -- maybe I just suck at runners though :/

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:43am

Great concept, I'm not sure if the game's really hard or I just suck (most likely the latter), but it's really difficult! It's awesome fun, and I laughed at the intro "1,2,5! Three sir! 3!" XD

Dohan says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:47pm

"El pela chorras", "Born to be guay"... No creo que muchos pillen esas chorradillas para votaros más en humor, pero ahí tenéis 5/5 por mi parte XD

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:29pm

i coud'nt ake it very far :(

LeReveur says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Great game !

TheSheep says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

It just shows a black screen with the Ludum Dare logo.

anvoz says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

Great concept. The graphics was also really good.

The game was quite hard for me. Maybe it would be easier if the red dot flew faster.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

This game is so hard.

atombrot says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:24pm

nice one :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I really like the concept but the implementation is a little clunky. Teleporting does not respond as one would expect, and I wish time between death and restart was a little shorter. The learning curve is too steep and it should be smoothen out to get confident with the control, I really enjoyed the music and the general mood of the game!

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Interesting mechanics, but waaay too hard... lol

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Very well done, sir! :)

Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:10am

liked the mechanic. little hard on a track pad, but that's my bad. :)

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Great game, well done!

Zener says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:23am

Great idea, really good one. It's not easy to use well the teleport at the moment but the game is already fun. Cool music too

joe40001 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I enjoyed it, very challenging though. Still well done.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:35am

Strega:
Like the teleport mechanic and randomly generated stages. Some of the traps were extremely difficult to get past, making the game a bit frustrating. Some tuning and polish could go a long way if you guys take this game further!

(this is a team account)

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:55am

Nice presentation. Fun mechanic although I think it's a little too tricky, I kept dying over and over.

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Cute little game..

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:39am

Interesting mechanic, the fast scrolling when teleporting is a bit annoying.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]