December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One

by drentsoft - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First entry. No good at pixel art so I had to create all my assets in Blender. Written in pure Java with all assets and resources embedded in a single jar so I'm hoping it should play anywhere where Java will run. Perhaps I have too much faith in the code once run anywhere ideals.
Coded in Netbeans
Assets in Blender/Photoshop
Audio recorded using a Zoom H1, my mouth and random crud lying around my desk and office.
Anyone who wishes might find some extra fun from running the game from the command line, lots of annoyed and snarky debug outputs to see, they're probably not as entertaining as I imagine but they're there for you to enjoy if you so wish.
Git repository should be accessible from
git://drentsoft.no-ip.org/ludum_dare/ludum_28.git
Please be gentle with that link it's running on a little Raspberry Pi not a full sized server. If you can't get to it shoot me an email. The contact form's on my site :)
There are a few bugs but they're not huge. I hope you enjoy my entry :)
Edit: I have listed links for Mac and Linux versions but these are completely untested as they're the same .jar file as the Windows version. However, I don't think I used any features that would cause them not to run on either of these platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#155Theme3.52
#219Humor3.00
#236Innovation3.31
#497Audio2.52
#534Mood2.70
#551Graphics2.82
#835Overall2.56
#862Fun2.29

Comments

drentsoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:04am

I need a few minutes to find a game crashing bug, is that OK? It worked fine in the IDE but not outside it :( No new features I swear!

drentsoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

Bah sound doesn't work in Linux, causes the game to crash hard. I might do some light porting work tomorrow to turn off sound for Linux. :(

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35am

I especially liked the command-line comment that was a string of exceptions!

(The game worked fine, it just crashed once at the end)

Linux version seems to work for me.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30am

I don't get it.

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:48am

I don't quite understand the theme connection, but regardless this game had a wonderful mood to it. Has a bit of a "Flower" vibe, in that it clearly has an end goal, but it doesn't really matter how you get there or how long you take, which was nice. Very cute.

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

I do not understand the objective of the game.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57am

I love the choose your character screen. NOH!
You only get one level!? I'd like to see more ;)

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25am

The idea is great! Too bad you didn't get to make more levels. I also loved the animations you made.

ossah says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49am

Nice concept and potential to make a great puzzle game if padded out a little! Well done!

Kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58am

Works on Mac.
Though it could me more intuitive as of where to place the ones.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:58am

Very funny! Obviously not much gameplay, but I like the way you interpreted the theme.

Sheep says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13am

Too bad you couldn't finish it. Better luck next time!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19pm

An interesting concept on the theme and a bit of humour too. A very unique entry... there is only one like it I think.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I looked at the description and thought 'Oh no! that sounds like my game! And I thought I was original.'
They are pretty similar and you also seem to have a bit of a problem with collision detection.
Too bad you didn't get to do everything you wanted.
I used 72 hours (and so entered the jam) and managed to finish my game (in the nick of time).
Take a look and see if my game is something like you wanted it to be.

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Nice idea! quite similar to mine actually. :)

Donutttt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:38am

Had a bit of trouble understanding this one. Though it looks like a really cool idea. Might even be educational! Great work.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:32pm

It was fun and all, and the character animations were awesome, but movement was very buggy and I don't really understand how to play :(

udo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I really liked the concept, very neat idea with the equations - and it's one of the very few Java games that will actually run on OS X. Good job! :)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I liked the 3d style sprites, but I couldn't figure out what to do. :(

minibutmany says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:32pm

A really nice idea, you just need some more time! Good luck!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:06am

Great idea! Would love to see this game finished through

loxo says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Interesting idea. I like the character animation and the sound effects. More levels would be nice to enjoy the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]