December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Take one thing with you.

by background_nose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hit 'R' to begin or 'I' for a clue. Different objects have different values, and the further you venture from the portal, the higher the value climbs. You will gain MANY more points for escaping back into the portal with an item, than dying with an item.

Try and beat the author's high score of 21,868 points!

A quick note on NaN as a score. This IS deliberate. It was a bug that got elevated to feature. It occurs when the player does not manage to score any points before dying, I liked the sarcastic tone it had so it stayed.

I would have liked to have added two types of items. Those with a low worth but a use (think a gun, a decoy ect). And items with no use but high value. As an item is more valuable the further it is from the spawn point this adds a nice guns or butter dilemma.

My first LD ever. I think it went well. It's hard to believe this all started out at 6AM as an empty notepad file.

The first day was spent coding, with the second day focused more on assets. I think this approach worked well for me. I need to be careful not to spend too much time on placeholders next time. I think I worked about 37 of the 48 available hours and it paid off.

It's a shame that in my inexperience with the soundjs library I was unable to get sound into the game. I had some nice sounds lined up too...

Tested on Safari, Chrome and Firefox. If it hangs on loading, try clearing the cache and refreshing. (ctrl + F5 on most browsers).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#366Graphics3.18
#447Mood2.84
#474Humor2.29
#489Theme2.88
#716Fun2.53
#766Innovation2.47
#793Audio1.27
#802Overall2.62

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Not working ?

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I keep getting NaN for my "total worth" at the end.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Works fine for me. Not sure what is going on, but the art is quite good.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Good job!

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Neat game, I like the lighting.
I think it's rude to tell someone that they're worth NaN...

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Interesting, best score was 13. Do the items you can pick up do anything?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Should be working?
What was your problem alexis.pautrot? Rarely things don't load as they should to weird effects, but other than that it should be good.

NaN probably means you died without achieving much. It started out as a bug, and became a feature.

Thanks for playing guys!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Fixed a small typo bug of a single remaining soundJS call on picking up an item. This could crash the game if the browser is set to pause running on Javascript exception.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Nice concept but I get a NaN for my total worth :/

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Getting NaN a lot for values, but other than that it's well made. I especially like the square block lighting around the player.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Looks really cool, it's a bit short though.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Got NaN at first, finally changed onced I collected a potion. It's a little weird how the level completely changes everytime you return (for instance, I had to leave a trophy behind since I took the potion instead). Also, I found the game a bit buggy how you instantly returned to the Menu (where it prompts for T / R key presses) if you accidentally held a move-key that directs you back into the rabbit hole.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Haha this was brilliant! I kept getting "Total worth: NaN" - you simply must have left that in as a joke to other programmers right ;) The fog-of-war type lighting was really nice, the controls felt great though I'd have liked the camera to lead rather than lag the avatar as it was easy to run into trouble. Sound would have added to this, but it had a lovely feel

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Hanging at 100% loaded for me. Shame, thought it sounded pretty good.

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

good work, I like such roguelike games, there's always this tension around.
How do you generate the levels?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

I'm not sure why it might hang. What browser are you using Udell? Maybe try clearing the cache and refrest (ctrl+F5 on chrome and FF).

Kunzbe, the levels are generated using a recursive algorithm. It takes a large chamber, divides it into 4 sub-chambers with a door between each of them. This process then repeats in each sub chamber until the chamber is below a certain size. I'm happy with it and will have to remember it.

The NaN was deliberately left in. It can only occur when the player hasn't scored and is due to a division by an un-initialsed property. I quite liked it so it stayed. Better that than a 0.

marccspro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Sound is missing :/

Gear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:47pm

How the hell did you get 21,868 with those spawn-killing spiders around?

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:11am

fast game. Somtimes I'm getting NAN as value in Highscore? Nan stands for NotANumber ^^ like it the be not a number. Seriously. I like the random generated Levels, and the challenging difficulty level.... Mor sound would be cool.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:08pm

It's a nice first entry on LD! Congrats! The idea is interesting, although it's soo easy to die. Also there's not a clear reward at the end of the game.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:00am

The graphics, light effects, and procedurally generated levels are nice. It took me several games to find anything, though, and I usually only found one thing per game. The spiders pretty much killed me as soon as they showed up.

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:14am

Nice work, I love how fast it moves. I wish the enemies had some better ways to dodge them, I wasn't able to live long enough to get a very high score.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Cool, but a little fast, i wonder if you do frame-independent movement (delta-time)? scored 6600 something ..

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Good job for a first LD! I appreciated the speed of my player and of the respawn, though I thought the spiders were a bit unfair (they can easily trap you and make it impossible to proceed). Lots is up to luck. But I did play until I got some good loot. :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Sweet game! I was only able to get a meager 1,200 points with a potion, but I really like the concept. I think if there was a little more there to encourage survival, I would be more inclined to play longer.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:35pm

@postmodestie Yep it's done on a delta time rather than per frame. I like this a lot more, but if you are running slowly then it can be a little jumpy.

Thanks for the feedback all! :)

psc1997 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:10pm

First time I don't know that I must to do, but second time I collect gold, and have 3k score ^^
Interesting idea ! :)
Graphics are simple, but good too ! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]