December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save Octavius

by greytram - Jam Entry

The evil tycoon Stomy Fish is going after Octavius the octopus! As the fearless adventurer Seamus, your mission is to escort the only remaining octopus to a safe location and to protect him from the monsters that lurk in the depths of the ocean...

Welcome to our fun-packed aquatic shooter!

Made with FlashDevelop/Haxe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#39Graphics(Jam)4.34
#216Humor(Jam)2.54
#275Overall(Jam)3.08
#283Audio(Jam)2.81
#333Fun(Jam)2.69
#369Theme(Jam)2.45
#371Mood(Jam)2.61
#503Innovation(Jam)2.10

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

Great graphics! I just wish the enemy types had different patterns or attacks. Fun concept to expand on though, good job!

ismyhc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57am

Great graphics! I think adding in some particle effects for collisions, etc would really have made it!

Mr.Cassels says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39am

The graphics. win.
fun game, nice music, good polish, far to easy, but still fun.

Verdict: nice game, good way to pass the time, quite enjoyable.

Lilipinky says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59am

Great submarine atmosphere, catchy music and important mission to achieve!
Simple but entertaining!
Nice job!

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Great graphics. Simple but entertaining. :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Nice gfx, smooth controls, well done character design... music is little bit annoying... Over all well done

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:17am

Pretty art, the music looped a little funny, though.

jackolondon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:14am

love the music!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:21am

Great graphic and style. Just a bit to normal for an LD game.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Great graphics and theme!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Really loved the shiny artwork, and the sad fate of the octopus if you lose was a funny twist. :D
If you do a post dare version, a longer music track, and definitely some sound fx would be cool.

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:10am

Superbly drawn graphics! The game itself is a bit easy, but fun.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:44am

Fun game, great graphics and mood.

bitserum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Top graphics. You could really expand this with more enemy types and weapons.

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I loved graphics and music. Good job at a so little time.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Wonderfull look! Very polished :)

kibertoad says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

nicely drawn, but gameplay is a bit too repetitive. it seems you could do a lot more with more freedom of movement and various types of attacks for both player and enemies.

drludos says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice little game, I love the graphics and the music!

Regarding the game itself, the gameplay is cool, but I feel it lacks some kind of "rhythm": the enemies waves are spawned randomly each X seconds, which get a little bit repetitive over time. Maybe you should try to create enemies on a more varied time span, and also try to add some randomness on the octopus movement so it doesn't "just" move back and forth a the bottom of the screen. But nice entry anyway!

A quand la suite ? :)

havana24 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:12pm

It's a bit easy, but the overall mood and visuals are great! :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Really great graphics! Fun to see Haxe get an outing too. I seemed to waltz through the game though, its like almost impossible to fail?

lotusgame says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:37am

Beautiful graphics ! Too bad it's a little bit repetitive. Mood is very good. One more star for using Haxe :) Congrats !

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Simple but really fun to play. Awesome graphics.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:28am

Nice graphics.
Can't say that its very engaging tho -_-

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:57am

simple, but fun and looks good. a little variation in enemys and bosses would have been great though. i thought the art assets really capture the idea of the game though.

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:05am

Great art: gfx and fun little music!!!! I wish I could made this level of graphics. I liked the idea to protect Octavius. Kudos for using Haxe!!! Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]