December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Cannon

by scottrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple puzzle game where the goal is to shoot the cannon and hit all the stars.

Tested and working well on Firefox and Chrome.
Sound effects don't work on IE (sorry, not enough time to fix).

Remember you can press 'R' to reset and try again if you want to restart a level faster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#336Theme3.17
#352Fun3.07
#375Audio2.76
#420Overall3.10
#685Humor1.83
#720Mood2.44
#792Innovation2.43
#868Graphics2.13

Comments

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Interesting puzzle game. Fun, but very hard.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Bit too hard for my liking; the cannonballs often went inside the blocks for some reason. Otherwise, not bad: 4 stars!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Simple entry, but the gameplay and layouts are well-designed. Good job, I played it to the end and enjoyed it :)

weazen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Bravo! Last level is tough!

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Didn't quite make it to the end, but the first 5 levels or so (i stopped after the one with the cyan and magenta triangles) were fun. As others noted, quite hard though.

Could run a bit smoother, but overall nice game!

gingerBill says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Last level is very difficult and there seems to be a "feature" or two but overall, the game is fun to play.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Hard but fun :)

scottrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Yeah, there is an issue with collision detection I wasn't able to fix in time. Thanks for playing!

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Simple game but very funny. Really love the last level :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Interesting puzzle and level design. You could add some more game elements to make the game richer. It could also have a pinball aspect. It would be nice to see it on my smartphone.

scottrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

The initial plan was to have other types of objects in the world to make hte puzzles more interesting, but I ran out of time.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice simple game, but it works! And quite challenging too :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:52pm

First puzzlegame I test, good job !

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:47pm

The thirs level is so hard!!! Good job !

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Interesting concept. I found it very fun to play.

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Quite simple but quite fun, there are some bugs with collision detection, sometimes the ball kinda sticks to the surface of the block and moves along until it ends.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:53pm

A little short, but fun nonetheless.

pkenney says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:39am

Had some fun with this! I was doing pretty well, until I got to the level with a blue triangle and a blue... trapazoid maybe? It had three distinct groups of stars. I started to feel like I wasn't in perfect control of the cannon, like if I hit left-arrow once then right-arrow once, I might not end up where I started.

Two hugely helpful choices you made were 1) allowing R to restart the level at ANY TIME instead of making me watch it play out (you can make the stars dance by jamming R, try it), and 2) the same shot always did the same thing. If either of those were not the case I think the game would be far, FAR less enjoyable than it was, so great work on the small choices there.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]