December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SPELLBREAKER

by jdpalmer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this tribute to Mastermind only the right combination and number of forces can defeat the war wizard, Azaroth and his legions. Use SENSE to find the enemies weakness and use FORMATION to reconfigure your party appropriately. The party configuration is critical because you only have one attack!

If you are confused about how to play be sure to read the instructions below the game or watch the gameplay video link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#204Graphics3.57
#432Audio2.65
#584Overall2.91
#585Humor2.05
#591Innovation2.77
#626Mood2.58
#633Theme2.62
#765Fun2.45

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

I couldn't tell what I was really doing but still great graphics and sound.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Not easily understandable

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Not half bad a very original idea dude. It should have a tutorial for being such a complicated game. ANd maybe a bit more action to keep the player interest. But over all a good game

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15pm

I *totally* agree about the tutorial Venks. Thanks for checking it out!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I liked the game mastermind, so I get used to it really quick. But you should have made descriptions on the screen what the colored icons mean. The graphics are cute, anyway. I got some glitches, like if you press the attack button again while the death animation of an enemy is triggered. Finally, I would make it all faster - especially swapping colors and sensing, to get a quick game flow. Good job!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Looked good. Same as others, not really sure what I was supposed to do?

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Nice visuals and great Mastermind spinoff!

stefan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I also had some problems understanding what to do first, but then I found all explanations below the game. Maybe there should be some kind of tutorial. Also I think that the input is very elborate, maybe this could be easier. The idea is nice and the graphics are great. I enjoyed watching the people jump around even if they had the wrong formation ;)

dray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Great game, like it, a bit complicated but you make good instructions under the game. i stopped at level 6 because i have more games to play. rythm could be better with fastest character switch and sense animation.

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46pm

For those who have never played mastermind this might be slightly confusing, but I particularly found this to be a very interesting re-interpretation of the game! Congratulations :)

Kimau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Great use of the Mastermind style design on old style RPGs. Though the colour feedback was confusing because most people would think green is good.

I think icons might have helped there.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

@Kimau, my wife said the same thing about the colors! In the next version it will be green and yellow with icons on them to make it more obvious.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17pm

The Graphics are realy cool! And I love the music. It's raining Stars for you! :)

viinnyk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Honestly I had no idea how to play. It looks amazing, though, and very polished!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Amazing graphics, but it took me ages to understand what was going on. None the less a great game

antila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Really nice idea and great execution!

viinnyk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

ohhh I figured it out! Very nice gameplay!

viinnyk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Very nice! Extremely well made!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Pressing 'Z' is unintuitive and kind of frustrating.

The hint system also seems a bit buggy/incorrect, which means I have absolutely no way of figuring out how to defeat monsters.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I guess I should read some more Knuth! I definitely haven't worked out the optimum strategy. This reminds me of the mastermind board game. Nice idea to take it into a turn based battle format. The character design is great.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

I was a bit confused at the start, mainly because I'm an idiot and can't read (I presumed green was right position and blue was correct but wrong position) but also I thought that the lights were in the order your dudes were. Then I remembered you don't get that much information in Mastermind. Neat though!

darkblue says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

I don't understand it. Is it kind of a "mastermind" replica ? Controls are painfully slow !

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

This is a great new application for an old challenge. And the level of polish given the timeline is impressive! Lots to be proud of here.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Had I not seen your demonstration in class (I'm one of your students) I wouldn't have any idea how to play. Very well made game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:55pm

It's very complicated and hard to understand.
In fact, I still don't know how to play it =P
Should have a tutorial.
The clearly procedurally generated music is kinda annoying, but still better than having no sound.

occash says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Sorry..but i don't understand control...

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Interesting concept!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Clever mash-up of Mastermind and Final Fantasy. I just wish the music wasn't so grating.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:30pm

The idea is pretty good, but the instructions are really bad. I didn't understand what i was doing or what i had to do for a long time. Nice art and music though. Good job

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Very confusing with no in-game instructions given. I think there is a real game here but I could not figure it out. Very pretty graphics!

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:19pm

* sigh * ... how people can't understand such amazing puzzle? guess we are truly in the era of the "don't make me think" games. it's a bit sad. anyway, i love it and it's very well designed. congratz!

miwuc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Man I hadn't played mastermind in ages. Congrats, the games feels very polished. The music also got annoying really quick though.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:39am

Awesome re-imagining of mastermind! The directions could be a bit more clear, perhaps some examples before starting. Otherwise, great work!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:08am

Confusing... But it looks pretty cool!

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:21am

Answering you question to my game: no, it doesn't support ouya pad right now. It's just a fast port. Maybe in the future...

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Wow, this was seriously brain wracking. Managed to get up to level 7. And the graphics and soundtrack are good, felt nice and polished. The puzzles are a bit hard though, and take time to solve even when you know what you're doing, so gets tedious there.

Hiku says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Wow this is cool even if the tweens are too slow :D

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Keep at it :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Well I never played mastermind, so I was hopelessly confused for quite a while...
Just one suggestion is that formation selection will be easier with a back key like x instead of selecting done at the bottom.
Great job nonetheless!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Pretty interesting concept, love the little round looking characters, very cute, and neat way to utilize the "YOGO" theme. Also BTW, I fixed the issue with the mouse in my game, I put an updated version that resolved game breaking bugs! Thanks for your time!

stvr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:26am

Really clever! Unlike anything else I've seen this jam.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:00am

I think green for correct position and blue for correct color would have been a bit more intuitive.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:29am

Cute game, I like the graphics and the sounds too !

somepx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:45am

For a moment I thought I was the eye, silly me! ;)
Very interesting entry, this deserves post-compo love!

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Fun little puzzle game and a really nice take on the theme! The visuals were clean and striking. The music was decent - though it got a little grating by the time I got to the last few levels. Overall a good, polished effort!

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:49pm

If you know the board game Code Breaker or Master Mind, this is actually quite easy, but it is really a nice implementation of it. I'd like to see some easier and faster input (maybe just up and down to select your hero, left and right to switch his colour).

Very beautiful graphics and sound!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I really like the idea behind this. Very well done. There are some technical difficulties (play z before the animations are displayed results in instant loose) but that"s fine for a result of 48 hours.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:11pm

i lost the first stage 15 times. i could not get the logic totally.

nice graphics tough.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Cool idea. Reminds me of Bulls and Cows http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulls_and_cows . But man that was difficult to grasp at first! It's not that the concept is hard to understand, but I think a better explanation is needed. Tutorials for sure as others suggested. Anyway - great accomplishment for such a short time!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:25pm

@rnlf great ideas - I may have to experiment with that in a post-compo version.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:13pm

It's difficult to understand rules! But graphics and sound are funny!

TheSheep says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Are there only 2 levels, or do can you somehow unlock more?

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I had a lot of troubles to understand how does it work. More instructions in game would have been better. Now I get it and this game is really cool !

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:30am

It took me a while to understand what to do, but mostly because I didn't pay attention to the instructions and because I expected the info displayed by sense to have something to do with position of the character (instead of being a mere counter).

That aside, this was a nice game. Too slow to my tastes... I think that tweening and animations could be faster. There's no gain in keeping it at that speed. (My computer may be making it slower... but it's not the only culprit XD)

But the idea itself was nice! I liked trying to figure out the best combination with the fewer moves... though I don't know (nor did I search for it) an algorithm to do that...

Oh, and cute graphics! :)

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Cool graphics! Characters are cute.
Music is cool but sound FX are a bit crunchy.
Game rules are a bit difficult to understand at first, a tutorial would be welcome.

foumart says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

Nice concept and cute graphics.
Completed the third level and the sound of attacking/defeating the enemy played in the background twice.., then the fourth level just passed, when I selected it.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Wahou ! hard to understand ^^ It needs a button to cut the music. However i really like the graphics and the gameplay. I never played a game like that. So unique ! Very good and interesting work :)

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Awesome! Interesting how you made a game that looks like one game, that plays like another.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]