December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Day Fly

by taaboo - Jam Entry

One day fly.

The game is about a one day fly. You only have one day to live. The concept is much like groundhog day. You relive that one day over and over untill you get the best girl in town. In this case that one day is one minute and thirty seconds.

You have to play the same day a couple of times to get all the information you need to know what to do within that one day to win the game.

We worked as a duo. The other creator is called: "Bastiaanus"
I did most of the art and abit of coding and he did most of the coding and sound.

IDE: Flash develop
Language: AS3
Library: Flixel
Art: Photoshop
Sound: FL Studio + Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

Articulated says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49pm

A great entry!

The graphics were complete and had a great style to them. Overall the game looks really good. The controls are intuitive and the game is fun to play. I must have played for about 20 lives over and over again.

Bravo! :D

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Its a great idea and fun. But being a fly is gross!

triforcespark says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:02am

A really funky game you got there :)

triforcespark says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04am

^wait, sorry, i mean 'unique'

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:15am

Great game! A bit challenging to figure out what to do, but hey, maybe that's just me who suck at these puzzle adventure games ;). Excellent setting and atmosphere.

Nichii says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:20pm

It is a little bit too short of a time to play for a single life :(

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I've had the same idea for some time, about "one day/minute fly" inspired by this short brilliant movie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Wf8yEb1cwY
Your take is great! And it's a complete game! Congratulations! I hope you'll release it and get some attention! :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Very well done. Needed some time to finish it (obviously), but it was rather interesting to say the least. Also very nice graphics you got there, and I liked the humor a lot.

taaboo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Thanks for the comments! :). One of the bigger inspirations for this game was the movie Groundhog day. Such a classic. We might even add to it in the future. It was a fun project to do and we are both realy pleased at the result ;)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:45pm

What are the controls for using inventory? I must've mashed every key and dragged the icon, but nothing gave. :(

Really like the art, the music and the dialogue though, impressive for such a short time. The gravestones were well done. :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:32am

I really like the graphics style. Kept dying and dying over and over again without finding my girl :-(

Bastiaanus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Thanks everyone,
@JohnnySix there are no keys for the inventory, you can interact with other flies by clicking on them (the interaction sometimes involves trading one item for another) :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]