December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Boolean Tale

by Zephyr Raine - Jam Entry

A Boolean Tale - Several situations, but only one choice!

Made in 72 hours by the Pulled Frop team, including MonkIsToC, Tobi "3k", W1nst0n, Zephyr Raine.

----- Description -----

"Sometimes some little choices can have huge impacts in one's life. That's what this game is about. If you ever wondered how chili flavoured condoms can change your life, this game is made for you! A Boolean Tale is like Skyrim, only better." - A very reliable journalist.

----- Controls -----

Arrows & Space - Make choices | M - Mute | R - Restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#17Humor(Jam)3.89
#89Fun(Jam)3.41
#201Mood(Jam)3.08
#229Overall(Jam)3.16
#245Innovation(Jam)2.91
#259Audio(Jam)2.90
#336Graphics(Jam)2.98
#341Theme(Jam)2.55

Comments

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:09am

Humorous interactive story :) Made me chuckle! Thanks reliable journalist

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Have a sex with a princess with a plants full of shit ? Really ? F*ck, this game make me laugh :D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

*pants )

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05pm

This is so funny! And also very addictive. The fact that you tell how many endings there are makes me want to explore them all.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

I had a lot of fun playing your game, good job!

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

loved it had to get all 7 endings

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Amazing game, recommended it to all my friends. If I could choose now this one would win, funny, immersive and dare I say charming. Fantastic entry, keep up the good work :D

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Not Bad. No need for the naked princess.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

ROFL! Funny and musical. Also there were dragons and condoms! My two favourite things!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Super FUN and simple little game. Had a blast playing! Thanks and congrats!

occash says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Funny story) thanks!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Very humorous, enjoyed the many endings.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:08pm

A little charming and a little disturbing. Well done.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I had a lot of fun with it, it was a bit dull to repeat some events in order to get every ending but it was still fun (and disturbing from time to time :) )

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:34am

What the hell did I just play!?!?! You win with humor haha.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Ha, nice one. Very creative. :)

Coblynau says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Weird princess, weird cake, weird dylan. Well done. ;)

Xavier says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very good and disturbing job :)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Abrasive, cruel, vile humour. Just how I like it.

runvs says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:35pm

This one made me laugh really hard! Great Game. Nice Job on music and graphics, though I didn't get why a "son" would be wearing pants, but this is another weird thig in you game! Awesome!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Silly and fun. It's a little inaccurate on proper condom use...and proper Dylan use?

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Game was absolutely hilarious (and dark in a subtle way) and I really enjoyed trying to get every possible ending.

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:22pm

5/5 for Humor, Fun and Innovation! :)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I just had sex with a princess with aids... I stole a cake... I commited suicide... This game makes me laugh sooooo hard!

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Hey Zephyr Raine, I am making an indie game blog and wanted to write some articles about ludum dare. This was one of my favourite entries and I was just asking if its cool that I write about it and use some screenshots?

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:13pm

@SenorDiablo : Yes, sure thing ! Please send us a link later on at pulled.frop@gmail.com !

Many thanks to everyone here, as our first jam ever, it's a great start and we are verry happy about it. Love.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Trust that journalist !

Moosefly says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Funny little story, short enough for me to get all the endings too :P. Too bad the princess was a total skank.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Very funny! I included this game in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/JK9Dz3oR_Xs

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:27pm

One of the funniest games entered.

UltraRat says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Cool. Haven't seen much interactive fiction this time, Fun choices.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I laughed!

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:46am

Refreshing to see some grown-up humour and it is well executed. Was a bit unprepared for the level of grown-up-ness - your reliable journalist missed that bit out

stvr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:04am

For a game with only boolean choices, I did exceedingly well at always choosing the wrong one.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:01pm

HILARIOUS game! I love the choices, and the fact you named this game Boolean Tale makes it even more fun. I liked the interactive story and it was really immersive. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]