December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tara

by Namide - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game, with an horizontal auto-scrolling.
In first I wish to create a shoot them up with only one ammo, but I had no time.

In this game, you must avoid the opponents and his shots.

To move you must use the arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#637Graphics2.67
#768Fun2.44
#919Mood1.65
#934Overall2.36
#959Theme1.85
#987Innovation1.74

Comments

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56am

Based on the number of tries it too me to get past the first set of yellow enemies, I'm never going to be able to finish this. I did manage to get to the second set of pinks though.

One thing I would change from what I saw: the first set of green enemies is extremely slow and boring. Most of the time, I didn't even look at the tab I had the game in to get past them.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I do think this is a bit too simplistic. It is fun, but it really needs something more than just dodging.

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

You broke the rules by posting this as a Compo entry while using 3rd party music (which I wanted to compliment...)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Collision detection seems a bit merciless? :D

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Very difficult, but pretty fun.

Namide says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Sorry, I had not understand this rule.
I corrected it and I removed the music.

DustyStylus, the hitboxes are big ;-)

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:02pm

I dig it!

Udell Games says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I did not get hit once, even when I flew inside an enemy. You might want to fix that.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Umm, looks like there's bug where the hit boxes were gone.
I open my browser in several tab, and then I can't die.

wezrule says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:56pm

yeh I never die.. interesting game tho

Namide says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Damn, indeed: I did not reactivated the collisions after that I removed the music.
It's fixed now.

tchem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:30pm

nice!

van noctar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:26am

Great game! A lack of sound...

x70x says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Dead simple idea, but executed pretty well. A bit more randomization in the first wave would help, otherwise I'm not very inclined to replay.

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I've loved the graphics! Really good game and very nice job. :)

If you have time, please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it :)

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:44pm

It really lacks of music, imo. A scoring or power-ups system would have been a great thing to implement. Maybe in a post-mortem version ?

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I liked the enemy attack waves and the parallax effect was really good. I'm a badass space seagull of doom!

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Well executed, not very innovative though. Pity that there's no sound :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]