December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Endless Night

by Guennor - Jam Entry

This is actually the second game that i've programmed for this Ludum Dare.
I started the first one with two friends of mine, artists. But they had some problems - one of them got sick and the other one lost his internet connection. I thought it was a minor problem and kept programming. As the hours passed I started to get worried and when there was only 19 hours left to finish the game for the jam, I finally managed to contact one of them and he told me that they couldn't participate anymore.
So with 19 hours left I tried to make another game, a simpler one, but it seems that if I stay awake for one more minute i'll collapse. I've spent the whole weekend coding for nothing!
Or maybe not. I think I got some relevant C#/Unity knowledge with both unfinished projects, at least. But here it is.

WASD to move. E to interact with stuff.

If you want to know how the first game was, here are the two latest builds before I dropped development:

Build 4
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/29752052/Arquivos/LD28Builds/Build04/Build04.html

Build 5
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/29752052/Arquivos/LD28Builds/Build05/Build05.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Ysty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I love the look of the game.

Guennor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:56am

@Ysty, thanks for the compliment.
The objects textures are missing and stuff. And the enemy doesn't appear in this version. But anyway thanks for playing and sorry for not being able to complete it ):

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice beginnings of a situational short puzzle adventure? Spots of snappy humor. Perhaps make a post-compo version for exercise? :)

Guennor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:49pm

@Joror Actually it was going to be some kind of survival with just a little of humor.
You would play as a one armed guy who could only use/have one tool at a moment. With the seed you could plant a tree. With the bucket you could get water to make the tree grow faster. But you need to be careful with the water, because it spills everywhere when you have it equipped, and it could put out your fire. With the Ax you could chop the tree to get wood, so you could put it in the fire and make it bigger. And with the dart you could use your blowpipe to hit the enemy, that would come whenever your campfire burned out.
You would start the game with only one match, so you could start the fire. Whenever your fire burned out it would be an almost game over, the only way to survive would be to keep shooting the monster that would come and trying to grab the fallen dart as soon as the monster is killed.
Anyway, i'll try to finish it one day, in a more organized way. I was too sleepy and couldn't think straight so that's what made it difficult to finish.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Nice graphics, I like the way the sprite looks, especially the scaling. Shame you couldn't get more implemented in time but it's a great effort regardless. I hope you can keep working on it and get it to be even better!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:44pm

For such a short period of time, this came out pretty nicely. A post-compo would be nice as I think it has potential. It sucks that happened to you with the first game :/ Great job though!

bsowers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:27am

Obviously there's not a whole lot to comment on, but it's a good start to something.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Too bad it it's not done, but that can always be fixed in the next ludum dare. I liked the depth perception, I think your next submission is going to be great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]