December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yogo's Adventure

by OhFiddleDiddle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yogo is a lumberjack bear, and recently gained magical powers!
Yogo is known for his hatred of wasting time and repetition, so if he can't pass a section in under one minute, he gets so annoyed he gives up, and takes the easy path to the next section!
In his spare time Yogo loves descending walls, and reading signs.
He also REFUSES to use his powers more than once per section.
Damn stubborn bear...

Made using Unity, Paint and Gimp.

EDIT: I thought I should mention this is my first Ludum Dare. :D

EDITEDIT: Also if you could please rate it on Kongregate as well as here that would be greatly appreciated. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#111Humor3.37
#386Theme3.10
#426Mood2.88
#459Fun2.91
#488Innovation2.94
#521Overall2.98
#649Graphics2.64
#772Audio1.35

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:17am

Hahaha his face is priceless! :-)

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

Great work!

Fervir says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Get out of my head!
Fun game, cool story.
Very effective use of the theme.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28pm

The one use mechanics were great. Although, I don't think one life was necessary; it never left me the opportunity to then strategize and make use of my abilities more sparingly. The base mechanics were very intriguing though! <3

RhysD says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:38am

Hilarious signs :) The mechanics could be improved, but it did get a laugh out of me.

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:41am

Frustrating as hell. Really enjoyed the humor.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:51am

Simple, fun and damn you signs! Good work. :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51am

Frustratingly requires prior knowledge of the level to complete it. But a solid execution of that concept.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:58am

Nice Humor :D

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:02am

Cool concept, to bad the collisions are really off, got stuck in walls a couple times which made me lose those levels, :(

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19am

@Ditto, My answer to him getting stuck in walls (A problem to which I never REALLY looked for a solution due to time constraints) was that he was a great rock climber. ;)
Also, thanks for all the great responses everyone!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Funny game!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:26pm

It puts a smile on your face, but I felt that controls are a little clunky and since you need prcision in some parts it can get frustrating fast.

ferrzo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:51pm

That was great, so much fun!:)

miwuc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:53pm

The signs got me every time. Great job!

yosh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:23am

At first I was pretty reluctant to play this game, but once you reach level 2, things are getting interesting! Good humor, surprisingly great mood as well!
I wonder if there's a secret ending in the case you pass al the levels :)
Good job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:25am

@yosh, You will have to pass all the levels and find out. ;)

Again, thanks everyone for all the great responses! :D

Arcantic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:05am

Loved the idea, it was a nice play. One of the first games that has humor that I've played so far. Good work

occash says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:27am

Nice graphics! I like it very much!Thank you!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:59am

"Yogo is a lumberjack bear and recently gained magical powers!" Hahaha :D

Level 2 is amazing, you played me, you played me good!

nSun says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:00am

The ugly face of this bear is so lovely.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:09am

Nice idea with funny character, but I was not able to finish one level (I guess - didn't get much feedback about failure or success). Unfortunately not much fun for me altough it looks like a good idea with quite good programming.
Sounds and animation would have improved the game.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Hahaha, I totally fell for it on level 2! :) Wish the game had sound though... Still really well done for such a short time!!!

psc1997 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:55am

haha most funny game that I've played ;)
Congratulations ! Great job ! ;)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Thanks everyone!
I love that you all enjoyed the humor, I wasn't sure if people would see the funny side, or just be incredibly frustrated. Haha.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:17am

It was a good game I like the fact you can only use the abilities once per level, the only problem was the collision with the walls. Other than that it was good and damn that level 2 haha

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]