December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pivotal Point

by Juno Nguyen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first entry for Ludum Dare, created in about 12 hours. A lot could have been better, that is certain. There is no sound because I ran out of time, and I was supposed to preparing to go to work while writing this (I have a shift job). Balancing is not in a good shape either, as this is an incredibly difficult skill that I tried to bite off more than I can chew. I also learned that making AI was a pain. Outcome results may vary despite the same input action.

Despite these and some cut content, the game was more or less close enough to my vision, hence, it is submitted.

The mighty Lother Empire is going to launch an airborne invasion on the Kaedani scums to your right. Your sabotaging party screwed up and only you survived. Use your only remaining remote-controlled missile to make way for the invasion force. You get only one shot.

While not steering the missile, use arrows to move the camera.


Feedback is highly appreciated.

Disclaimer: Some graphic assets (Stars, Starfighters, Missile, and Blaster projectile specifically) were re-used from previously cancelled and unreleased projects. Created using Construct 2.

Update on '13 Dec 15th, 2325 SGT: Fixed some balancing issues and updated AI.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#376Graphics3.16
#380Theme3.11
#517Innovation2.89
#575Humor2.06
#652Overall2.82
#716Fun2.53
#720Mood2.44
#796Audio1.25

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41am

Simple and fun, albeit short. The refresh to comply with the theme gave me a good chuckle.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42am

Too bad you don't have sound, I have the feeling the game would feel much better with sound. Loved the smooth scrolling, and the idea is also pretty good :) The 102% bug was actually pretty comical :P

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53am

Haha, great game. I didn't understand it straight away. I can't tell how to tactically do better. I will admit I played it a few times out of curiosity. I love the aesthetic overall.

darkblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13am

Simple yet fun

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25am

@mortl8324 Hint: The missile's impact is AoE (and not actually visible), and the towers provide extra hit points for turrets. Try to make the most of your only shot ;)

acronaut says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Would be nice to have some sound.. Otherwise nice one!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

fun, played it a quite a few times and even blew up my own mother ship! >.< hahaha!. best score I got was 60%

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Pretty fun, but I agree with the other commenters that it really needs some sound. Also the missile seems to sometimes take out a building I didn't actually aim for.

Love the art style!

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice graphics! Gameplay could´ve been less linear, but I think it´s great nonetheless :) good job!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

The concept is good, but i could have been way better with more levels. Nice work

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17am

sticks to the theme and I really like the look of the invasion (*boom*). I wish there were more levels, but hey, you only got one, right?

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20am

@finefin Yes. I didn't even have time to deal with sounds.

s73ph4n says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:28pm

It has potential. A pity you didn't have time to add sound. Congrats :)

ashen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:58am

Really good effort for 12 hours. Works great in chrome, very smooth scrolling. Bullets are well done. Fun!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I liked the concept, and the stats haha. Couldn't tell which bit was hit, as some of the triangles went down when I was aiming for the globe thing with three turrets.

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:14am

It didn't seem to matter what I did, the same destruction would bring about a wildly different result each time.

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I really liked the art style in this, minimal but still very expressive. Having to refresh to try again is annoying, the theme shouldn't make the game annoying it should inspire. Also, it was too zoomed in, the first several attempts were just me flying around to get my bearings (which led me to accidentally destroy my own people).

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:49am

Nice idea, I love the art - shame there's no sound.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]