December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGOM

by JOSSCON - Jam Entry

In YOGOM (you only get one mum) your aim is to save your mum from the bandit pyramids. If she dies you will be forever motherless! Unlike your mum, you cannot die, so protect her anyway you can!

Plays best with a 360 controller.

All assets created by me except for the Bombardier font, which is linked under the game.

Please let me know if the os/x or linux versions don't work as I have no way to test them!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#292Theme(Jam)2.69
#307Humor(Jam)2.20
#386Graphics(Jam)2.76
#486Fun(Jam)2.17
#497Mood(Jam)1.88
#501Innovation(Jam)2.11
#519Overall(Jam)2.24
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Unity web player doesn't have a Linux client, can you post a Linux build?

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Colour is so bright, it's hard to play

Pitoum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

The movement of the arm would be probably much clearer if it was horizontal and not vertical :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:27pm

The controls are so difficults!! But nice gameplay!

tchem says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:28am

cool gameplay,, nice work

Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:58pm

The control is a bit difficult. I like the game :)

ALobker says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Awesome title. Awesome graphics. Terrible controls.

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I found it pretty hard to play, my mum died all the time :(

JOSSCON says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Thanks for all the feedback! Thanks for letting me know about the controls, they definitely aren't the best which makes it really difficult, sorry about that... It's something that I will work harder on in the next jam. There is also a bug at the end which means that if you lose on the last wave of enemies your mum will die but after a few seconds you will also win the game. Whoops!

Sebastian says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Very tough, my ma didn't make it :(
It is quite bright, but I still rather liked your choice of colour, I think it works well. Movement, as you admitted, could use some refining. Nice game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]