December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bomb

by Nnnnneeeedddd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys, this is a half puzzle half action game.
its really fun, however you only have one life
to do all three levels so it can get quite frustrating.

Good luck in blowing up the Egyptian Pyramid :P

PS: it is all checked, and is possible

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#718Audio1.79
#736Humor1.67
#853Theme2.19
#923Mood1.50
#937Graphics1.90
#990Fun1.67
#1001Innovation1.45
#1007Overall1.76
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

607 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:50pm

The controlling is a bit weird, the jumping doesn't work well. I couldn't solve the first puzzle, so I don't know how big the game is. I don't know where you got the sprites, cause I think you have to make most of them yourself, and the menu is kinda empty.

poingferret says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:29pm

It's fun, but I'd like the controls to be a little bit better and for the character to stop once I jump onto a platform, not keep moving in that direction.

Still, it's spiffy at this point.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:31pm

I feel that making you have only one life and having to restart from the start menu every time is quite frustrating. The platforming is quite broken, it is very hard to do even the simplest jump. I tried a few times but I couldn't finish even the first stage...

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:53pm

guys the jumping just makes the y position go up then
down how could it be better or worse. He doesn't jump
very high because otherwise it would be two easy.

you only have one life because the theme is "you only get one"

Thanks for the feedback

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I like it, though it's very difficult, the later levels look very interesting

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:07am

What I personally find confusing about the jumping, is that there's no indication how high it goes until you start falling again. What I mean is, usually there's a bit of a curve, you get slower while you jump up and pick up speed when falling down. That would make it a lot easier to work with, as you'd have a clear indication at which point in the jump he is, and when you see, ok he's getting slower already, you can tell whether he'll make it to where you wanna go.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15am

ill keep that in mind for my next game thanks :)

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20am

That's impossible the jumping feels way to elastic, I die even if I land on top of the arrow? you should check for that :P

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22am

What a rough way to start a level, an arrow to the face. A little work needs to be done on the difficulty curve as well as the collision checking (both platforms and arrows). Overall, a nice base for you to grow your skills with.

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:27am

A quick restart button would have been nice! Also, the collisionmasks are a bit wonky, I have been hit by ojects several times that clearly would not have hit me!
Overall it was pretty fun though, I stuck around playing it far longer than I thought I would.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51am

sorry guys there are quite a few collision bugs :/

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51am

The physic a bit confusing. Additional info/tutorial in-game will not hurt though.
The theme fit as a glove though.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04am

There are a lot arrows in my head... I finished at first level... That was enough because I don't want to lose my sanity.

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nice Idea!
+
Background Graphics
Sprites
Theme

-
Controls
Its hard to tell the difference between background graphics and sprites.

gilborn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Very tough game, jump is in relation to movement speed high. Nice background graphic.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Repeating the first level always was quite frustrating.
Also, I noticed that the arrow collider sometimes picked me when I felt certain that it wouldn't.

voltorben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

With some polishing to the controls and collision this game could have been fun. Unfortunately they we're just too frustrating, and i couldn't finish. Sorry for being frank.
Also you clearly didn't take those to background images in these 48 hours! Better luck next time :)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:51am

I didn't get past the first level. I tried it a few times but knowing that there are more levels afterwards (probably equally difficult) and if you die you start all over? No thanks, not for pixel perfect jumps.

So the one, main redeeming factor of this game for me is dying. "Wha?" you may say? It wasn't the fact that I had to start over that I enjoyed. It was the satisfying thump the arrow made and brief pause as the game sort of visually acknowledged to me "yes, you died, and you've got to do it over now". That was great, satisfying in a game where I would expect to be instantly reset to the beginning.

Now this brief pause as you die does acknowledge one issue where I believe some frustrations stem from. Maybe 1/4 the time I noticed the arrow didn't really hit where I would imagine the hitbox to be. It would sometimes collide about 5-10 pixels away from the character image. This is not good at all when you're doing pixel perfect jumps/actions.

I would recommend setting the hitbox to be slightly smaller than the character. That way when an arrow hits you don't feel cheated.

Also the difficulty, I can understand yes, you want it to be difficult. But there's a difference in being hard, and being just downright brutal and unfair.

Your game I feel fits into the later category. Just simply because the very first level tasks us to insanely jump on short platform towards insta-death arrows shooting in a fairly fast loop.

Fenmar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Good game, though very challenging. I made a Let's Play video with your game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZqNLtdL2Fs

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Vomited audio errors at me on Ubuntu 13.04.

Details:
http://pastie.org/8566108

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

@Binary Gambit I know i noticed that, but couldn't work out why it didn't work on ubuntu :( sorry.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I could NOT beat this game, but I love the challenge. Well done! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/fUXvqevl8YI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]