December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

FFirst Impression

by chiguireitor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Snarky date sim. You have a blind date, you don't know jack about your date, but everyone on the mall does, so you have to talk around to determine what your date likes or don't. Also some things make you comfortable, and some don't. Pick wisely.

EDIT 0: Just to clear it up, take the Ludum Dare theme, concatenate it with a space and then with this game's title and you've got how it fits the theme ;)

EDIT 1: Game mechanics: Ever played Carmen San Diego? You must inquire on the shops about your date so you get a good idea of what it likes or doesn't likes (people know more about its dislikes than likes). Then, after you have a nice idea of what your date likes and doesn't likes go and acquire the best balance between yours and hers/his likes/dislikes. Red=You don't like, Green=You like. Watch your confidence meter. Controls are crap, i know, my bad, focused more on content and humour and forgot to tune the controls.

EDIT 2: The best outcome is >= 5 points, and the worst is <= -5. Both are relatively hard to achieve.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#102Humor3.41
#288Innovation3.23
#435Mood2.86
#491Overall3.00
#557Graphics2.81
#564Fun2.77
#580Theme2.72
#620Audio2.23

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

Mmm... :p how come everyone else knows your date? :D

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

Bastante entretenida la idea, me agrado ver a mi personaje con todas combinaciones todas extrañas gracias a los gustos variados de la muchacha y los propios.

Le falta pulir bastante, los controles son un poco tediosos para moverse y no puedes echar para atras. Pero la idea es buena, con un poco mas de trabajo puedes tener algo brutal :)

PD: El titulo del juego dice "FFirst Impression", deberias arreglarlo

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

Hola Jan, la doble F es a propósito :D. Gracias por el review sincero ;) Ya jugué el tuyo, interesante la mecánica.

Éxitos!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

Alan, there's a saying in my country "Small Town, Big Hell" :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

Hahah I paid dinner and ran to my house :P Great work, really funny game.

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:19am

You. I like you. The would needs more offbeat games like this.

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40am

This is such a strange game, everything about it. Like if you looped the music for 20 minutes, you'd have the next best selling art music album.

I love it, great work.

ErikU says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:45am

Haha, 'stache, afro, condom, baguette, swimwear. Looking pretty fly. Too bad the lady didn't think as much.

Funny, innovative game.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Interesting idea. A bit of a pain to navigate. Not exactly the most interesting piece of software.

benjih says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36am

I was most impressed by my ability to run around town with a baguette under my arm. Truly, the simulator of kings.

afterisk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28am

Great, off-beat game and music. Had a lot of fun playing it! I wish right-side stores had better access.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48am

love it, very original and great to dress em up for some funny dissapointment. poor guy!?...

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15am

interesting concept

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17am

Like the idea! But oh my god, awful controls :S

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32am

The music... so painful!

The movement is difficult to get the hang of and players should be able to see what shops they're entering, no matter what angle they're entering from.

It's also fairly difficult to move away from a shop once you've entered it.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40am

That's great. This is great. I just want to know how it fits the theme.

Kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37am

Really hilarious! Walking backwards would be great, tohug.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Such a strange, awesome game. Good work.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Not really sure if this was meant to be a game where you must get the best outcome, but seeing all the various items you can buy, there's almost... too many combinations to try (if there's such a thing?). Navigation was pretty bad, everytime I came out a shop and try to turn away it would get me right back to the 1)2)3) selection screen. It'd happen sometimes 3 times in a row... ARRRRGH!
The variety of items you can buy though was ... interesting. Vibrators? Yep. Native feather hat? Huh uh! Ackward date? You bet!

aldian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Very funny little game :D one bug is someitmes you bounce off the fountain.

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Had fun on this one. Needless to say, i got some action in the end. Fun game, some shops were hard to enter but never the less. Nice one.

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

A very enjoyable game, it was fun and interesting to play. I can only complain about the difference in levels of sound volume between effects. And the fact that you cannot go backwards, turning in doors to get out causes you to go into the shop again. But otherwise it's a functional and fun game. 4/5

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Haha, hilarious

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

Super funny game. Nice Job. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/6i2NO94dPrk

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:13am

Neat 3D world. Camera control gets cumbersome, but otherwise it has that early N64 look to the world. Great work!

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:59pm

It's hillarious.
Controls could use some polish and shops around the left and bottom edges of the screen are a bit hard to get into.
But the humor compensates for that.

careless says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:30am

Be nice if the camera rotated for you, other than that bit of fun, date went ok but I never got to see her

henrykun says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:59am

Very funny game! an interesting approach :), how did the idea come up?

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:46am

I brainstormed what things do you get in real life only once. As important things go, the first impression on your beloved one is a big one, one that brings sometimes painful memories (because it was an awkward moment), stress (trying to create rapport between you two), longiness (when you miss that one date when you met that special one) and happiness (because it went very well and you ended with someone great).

Then, after coming up with the idea, i tried to represent it in a way that doesn't involves a gender directly (if you look closely, there's no defining characteristic in your avatar that predefines gender, you define it through the accesories). This was important because i didn't want a "bro-game" where everything is for the average hetero white caucasian male (demographic in which i'm included) nor do the PAX "Diversity Lounge" thing where you try to be so Diverse that you end up patronizing "Diverse" people.

So, after all, this game is about being yourself, that's why most people assume the other party is of certain gender and won't ask questions.

:-D

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Man that's genius and hilarious!!! Congrats for the idea and the humor! Also the way it fits the theme is original. Of course there is room for improvement and polish as always but the base is solid. Respect!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:15am

Nice game, the concept is nice, I liked the different objects! :)

Conflei says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Buen trabajo, es bueno ver los puntos de vista de donde los demas tomaron sus ideas jaja.
En cuanto al gameplay me imagino que fue como tu lo quisiste hacer :).
Saludos desde Venezuela chigui.

mystakin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I enjoyed the writing on the hints, but they were occasionally too vague for me to figure out. Still a fun entry, and a clever use of the theme.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:35am

Really cool, 5/5

Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:35am

addictive

jomomomo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Nice job!

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:12am

Your player likes winning and losing as much as possible
Your player likes figuring out hints
Your player dislikes the sex shop existing but maybe that's just me
Your player doesn't dislike the music even though some do
Your player likes the interpretation of the theme

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]