December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gravidude

by gnerkus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Innovation3.61
#155Theme3.52
#197Fun3.35
#247Overall3.32
#282Graphics3.36
#326Mood3.00
#531Audio2.43
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I was a little confused at first but after a few attempts I got the hang of it; very fun and immersive. :)

Red Mike says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Interesting concept! I was thinking about saying something like 'You need to add something so players can't just wobble back and forth', but then I got one of those screens with the reversed controls, so good job! A bit confused why waiting past the 1 second and then choosing a direction would kill you rather than just letting you travel in that direction without stopping.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22pm

This was a good entry! I got pretty good at it. I would have liked to see a timer tracking my survival or some other form of score. Nicely done!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Neat game! I like the simplicity of it which makes playing it more fun!

I missed a way to track progress. Maybe the number of times you have chosen a direction or the time you been alive.

gnerkus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

@Coblynau Thanks!

@Red Mike Thanks! I designed it so you only have one second to choose a direction. Once that second is past and you haven't chosen a direction, the character is bound to die. The time guage doesn't reflect that, though.

@Mechatodzilla Thanks! I wanted to add a timer but I ran out of ... time (nice pun).

gnerkus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48pm

@soy_yuma Thanks! I would have added a progress tracker if I hadn't run out of time. I'll definitely add it.

d__adee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice! Had fun. It makes you to think and act very fast. Is there a goal? Or just try to survive?

gnerkus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50pm

@d__adee Thanks! You just try to survive.

Solluxx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Haha that was tons of fun :) I love the 180 degree flip levels. nice job mate!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

@Sollux Thanks! I'll add more game mechanics in the future.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

HAHA! nice game Dev_dude! The 180 flip is what got me every time >.<! really fun though, and the art is great as I would expect from you :D! GJ!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23am

@@TeddyNashor Thanks!

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36am

Got the hang of it fast, interesting concept that looks sharp. Just difficult enough too! Love it!

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I really enjoyed playing it. Tho it tok me more attempts to understand wot to do than I'm proud to admit :D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Fun and interesting idea!
the only problem I had was that the timer doesnt seem to stop when you choose and rather it stops once you leave the room, so you kinda have less than one second to choose.
Other than that, it was a pretty fun experience, good job!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:37pm

@metkis Thank you very much! I hope to improve the game by toning down the difficulty. I'll do that after I've solved the murder on a futuristic space capsule.

@nyrrr Thanks! The instructions were not clear so it's really my fault.

@Lorenzo Maieru Thank you for the complement! The timer is bugged, yes. I'm sorry.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Really simple concept! Quite addictive.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice take on the theme.

Sometimes the game goes to game over even though I have already chosen the direction and the character is already on the move... I think that it would be better to end the game only if the time finishes before you chose the direction (or by hitting a wall)

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

good game, not sure I'm coordinated enough to do it justice though!

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

It would have been more fun if there had been some kind of scoring system, so you have something to play for.

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41am

Cool game! I like the graphics and the mechanics! I would say the same someone here already said, some form of score would be great! And ,for me, the difficulty should increase constantly to make it more challenging. Simple but cool!

If you have time, please rate my game too! I would really appreciate it!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:31am

@Tex Killer Thanks for playing! The timer is bugged. The design is that you get only one second to chose a direction and one second to get out. So if your 'escape second' runs out, the character dies. The timer doesn't reflect that.

@Ariake81 Thank you!

@scoobyben Thanks for playing! I ran out of time before I could implement the scoring system. I'll work on it as soon as I can.

@_zulli Thank you so much! I hope to add more mechanics to the game so that I can make it balanced. I'll play your game once I'm done with "Penguins Gone Mad" =)

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:32pm

I don't know why but my ratings just disappeared from your game! I'm commenting again to try to send again my rating! :)

gnerkus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:26pm

@_zulli Ok. Thanks.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Nice game, hard at first, but fun when you understand it! :)

Snuti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Really nice work and nice concept :) I loved the 180 degree change, found that really challenging and interesting.

gnerkus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:38am

@Xaychru04 Thank you! I ran out of time before I could implement the help system

@Snuti Thanks!

robhor says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:11am

A bit confusing at first!
Like what direction I'm supposed to go, what the bubbles do, it took me a little while to notice the walls too. But after I figured that out it was a nice challenge. The 180* things destroyed me tough :p

GFM says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:28pm

The barrier, together with the "180°" modifier, were nice additions! Especially that modifier... when you already have such few time to think, having to pay attention to the details made it somewhat harder.

But the game lacks some sort of progression or score... otherwise, the game gets boring (to me), since there's no reason to keep trying and choosing a direction. I could simply keep pressing "left" and "right" as soon as I entered the stage, only failing when the "180º" was game...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]