December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

MoneyPlanet

by PlugNPlay - Jam Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare game, and i had a lot of fun creating it.
I kinda got stuck with my original game mechanic half way through and had to change the presentation to tile based to get some momentum back. I can't believe i finished it though...

Please excuse the VERY basic graphics (i'm a really bad artist ;) ).

The game is completely mouse controlled and takes 100 seconds, at most, to play.
You have to carefully balance the amount of money-making industry with the life-providing nature.

Oh, and don't forget: think twice before destroying our planet, because you only get one...


Edit:
I changed the "Entry Division" from Compo to Jam, because i accidentally violated Compo Rule #2 by using Music from Kevin MacLeod. Next time i will know better.
Other than that, it basically is a Compo Game ;).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Theme4.29
#110Audio3.38
#169Mood3.33
#276Innovation3.24
#452Overall3.06
#665Graphics2.59
#684Fun2.59
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Interesting nature games, makes you think and fun

Nighley says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36am

Looks like I'm not the only one who thought about our planet as the "only one". Good job!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39am

Great music! Love the slowly spinning planet.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05am

Nice use of the theme, though competing interests would have made it more interesting. As it stands now, no industry is really the only option (I get the message), but finding balance and compromise is far more interesting and realistic. Good job!

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44am

Nice entry, I liked to watch the waste spread. Would be nice if there where other factors to look for in the game.

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44am

I don't agree with "ThatGuy" no industry is not the only option. There is a certain balance here with 1-3 industry where the planet regenerates by itself.

If you use the money to cleanup then you can have a bit more than 3 and still have a balance.

More of a slightly hidden lesson then an actual game. Pretty interesting though. So good job!

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49am

@ThatGuy: Yeah, i struggled a bit with the game mechanics. It depends how you play the game. If you want to maximize your score, pure nature only takes you that far. You have to also get industry, but not too much.

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

Nicely done. Appearently the best move is not to play, or can anybody beat my score of 10000?

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:35pm

@lincore: It starts to get interesting at about 15000, but i won't reveal how to get there ;).

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

dang, I think the best option was to just build nothing (or destroy everything at the end). Pretty neat!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Best music I heard on a LD. It's perfect.
Excellent use of the theme, only get one planet. The gameplay is interesting, the graphics are basic but you made it look right, the slow rotation was a nice touch. The scoreboard is a good idea too, add replayability value.
Overall : Awesome work :)

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Love it! Solid work!

GameRespect says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05pm

A very nice game. The atmosphere that you've managed to create is nice and calming though as the game progresses it does get alittle more intense. Nice interpretation of the theme too. Good Job! :)

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Really a good one! Enjoyed it very much. I love the take on the theme and I greatly enjoyed trashing err.. I mean preserving my planet :)

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Interesting idea, and I loved playing it, but aren't you supposed to make your own music for the compo?

That aside, I'd love to see this expanded on with competing interests, natural disasters, scientific advancement and a longer turn time. This could be quite the interesting strategy game.

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03pm

@Udell Games: Oh, i think you are actually right. I just re-read the rules and i think i mixed it up with this sentence:
"...For Jam games, you are free to use whatever artwork or content you like (preferably something you have the legal rights to), but you must accept all responsibility for its use...".
Lesson learned, next time i will try to include generated music :).
Thanks for the hint though.

Zerot says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:05pm

nice game. Gameplay was quite simple, but it was hard to find a balance between waste production and the cleaning up of it.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:48pm

It was certainly a different experience to most games, it had a nice serious message whilst also being a nice game to help explain said message.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]