December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chambers

by person124 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well then, this was an interesting 48 hours. After all my hard work and labor, I got this. Now, I put both java 6 and 7 downloads because some people don't have java 7, so I put that into consideration. After your first run though please let my know in the comments how well you did. Rules and controls are displayed in-game. Have fun! Oh, one last thing, failure isn't an option, but suicide is!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#540Audio2.41
#668Humor1.87
#677Mood2.50
#728Fun2.52
#773Innovation2.46
#782Graphics2.32
#860Overall2.52
#889Theme2.08

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Wow. Wow. I got 3/8 but I have no idea why, or what. This game is compelling and mysterious despite seeming so simple.

Also: thanks for including a Java 6 build. How should I know what Java version I'm running? I mean, Java? Common!

wilpel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

really fun game I had fun when I played it! :D

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Some serious lag with those lava animations on. And then I managed to get stuck after going through a warp point.
But I got 6/8 on a full run.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24pm

The game is fun, mad and freezes every so often. The controls are a bit clunky.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:30pm

some bugs when going through elevators that made me lose my run. GREAT level design with simple components. :D good work!

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Interesting game, nice mystique to it, not quite sure what I was doing though.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:39pm

2/8 on my first try; 4/8 on my second. I somehow like the fact that nothing is clear at the beginning and you slowly learn about what's going on. (And after some playthroughs you still haven't figured out everything) Sometimes the character gets stuck and takes a while to fall down

KHANanaphone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Freezes a lot, not really buying the relevance to the theme.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

It was fun to mess around in, even if I didn't quite understand it.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Good game, I like exploring LD games.

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Game seems to have occasional freezes which are a little bit annoying. Could also use explanations what I'm supposed to be doing and what all the various doors and tiles do. Also now I'm stuck inside a wall.

nkling says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I got some freezing up, a little confused on what was happening but it was oddly charming.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

This was great it was fun little bit laggy but great work regardless you did well.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

The game froze periodically, which was a bit of a nuisance. Otherwise an interesting puzzle game after I figured out that orange = lava = failure and that I was advancing through chambers. One try per test is interesting. I like how you played to the character's floaty gravity.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

1/8 ... I'm afraid I don't really know what was going on :). The controls could be a little smoother, also. Still, not bad for your first Dare. Congratulations!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:21pm

It freezes a lot, so much that I gave it up after a while. You must be doing something terribly wrong in your code ;) The level design is nice though, graphics maybe too minimalistic.

goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:21am

I ran into couple of glitches making me restart the game multiple times. For eg: stuck in the wall after exiting the elevator. I couldnt move at all.

It is definitely interesting though.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Reminds me of some old-skool C64-stuff. 0/8, and before i really had to restart to notice 'e', the whole control scheme defied my intuition completely ;)

Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I got 2/8...I did not understand what was going on at all, and the jumping physics were a bit odd, but overall I enjoyed it. Great audio and I liked the background visuals.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:19am

Hey! Great game, got a bit weird when you got lost and suddenly got stuck in a wall. I checked the source and generally you are programming quite a lot in a C++ fashion, which is a bit slow when directly translating it to Java.

Some general tips would be to have the player check for the winning door instead of looping through objects and seeing if the entity is the player and if so check if the player is within reachable distance, also that regenerating images constantly instead of using Java Swing components is a bit strange. I like your keyboard handling though!

Good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]