December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chatbox Galore

by zorfmorf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one try. If you get banned that's it!*

TUTORIAL (BY POPULAR DEMAND)
Try to stay in the chat. If the timer reaches zero you get banned. The following actions add seconds to the timer:

- typing something
- successful blaming

The following actions get you banned:

- failing a blame
- timer running out
- failing a challenge

Blaming:
Blame someone of being a bot! The bots mimic players that have been in the chat before you!
If the suspected bot has id 5, then write "blame 5". If success you get seconds, otherwise you get banned

Challenges:
Sometimes the server runs challenges. Sadly there is only one - not using a specific character (pay attention to the chat)


I entered really late and only had 12 hours left. The game could really use more challenges and more intelligent bots but network code takes up a lot of time. And it suffers from a lack of human players. Would be best played with a couple of human players participating.


I'm proud to have finished my first ludum dare contest!

Installation:
windows users can just execute the appropriate exe file, linux and mac users need to have love2d 0.9 installed in order to run the love file.

*game needs internet to work. If you are greeted by an empty chatbox that means, that the server is down. Yes there are no error messages, I just ran out of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#19Innovation4.06
#128Humor3.31
#186Mood3.31
#192Overall3.42
#214Fun3.32
#245Audio3.00
#588Theme2.70
#718Graphics2.48

Comments

Johnman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

A heads up, Avast antivirus didn't like your game. I did though :)

Johnman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32am

OK, let me clarify. I got a false positive from my antivirus. It's not unusual with Löve games.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Great idea and execution.
I wonder if it would have been even more exciting if you would have had more time to acclimate and learn the rules but a ban would be a permaban. So you got only one play of this game.

I admire all people who write a network game in such a short timeframe.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I'm not sure what I only get one of. Neat idea, it would be cooler if there were more people playing. I'll try again later in the day.

lekochen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I agree with the comments above. The concept seems pretty cool but I'm not sure what should I do. Some tutorial might help.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14pm

I added a tutorial after going through the server logs. Hope that clears things up!

aritzh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Really fun, however I'd say it's missing some symbols such as ' and ?, and that bots should have a wider range of messages, but overall, really nice

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Funny idea, well done besides missing characters. And it's freaking multiplayer, so that's definitively cool.

Red Mike says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

This is hilarious, or as I had to type because of the challenge, "this is hilerious". Really fun idea.

grifdail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Yeah ! The game would have been awesome if it had more player. I only met bot.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Don't think I've ever seen something like this before.

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:14pm

A truly great game, and multiplayer even!

gingerBill says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

THIS WAS AWESOME!!! I have never seen anything like it and I want more!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01am

Very clever!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07am

What a quirky game! I don't really understand the conditions on why I would be banned though, but I suppose you aren't. Nice!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Well this was different. :D Had fun chatting for a minute, didn't realize there was a challenge going on and got banned. Very impressive game! :)

Nichii says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Wow, nice game XD I have dominated the chat once until someone came in and banned me (I know its a player who banned me). Anyway, this also creates vengeance and frustration for those being banned by another player... Anyway, good job! ;)

Those who banned me, you are an **shole. I told ya I'm not a bot :(

WeGuys says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Awesome game!

Jod says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Great music and atmosphere. The music works rather well, too!

zwinge says ...
May 8, 2017 @ 8:17am

From Iceberg Reader: Dragonstar Barbara Hambly Del Rey February 4 2009 http://downloadingfreetorrentsite.ru We try to email each and every one of you but bear w.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]