December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Are The One

by mystakin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Are you the one? Prove it!

You only get one... Direction! In this game your character is only capable of progressing in a single direction.

I also riffed on the idea of "one" in a more abstract sense. Each level has one item to collect, one base color in multiple shades, and the main character's design is... one of a kind.

You Are the One is designed to be played with a mouse, but you can use a keyboard as well.

-- Controls --
Left Mouse & "Z" -- Move / Move Left
Right Mouse & "/" -- Jump / Move Right
Middle Mouse & "Space" -- Restart Level
Tilde "`" -- Skip Level (CHEAT)

NOTE: Mac & Linux versions are untested on their respective machines, but are included just in case they work. I also ported them after the competition was over.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#51Audio3.62
#86Fun3.59
#155Overall3.51
#293Theme3.24
#317Innovation3.17
#327Humor2.66
#386Graphics3.13
#398Mood2.91

Comments

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21am

I had fun playing it, and using the mouse was pretty cool. I'm really into the art / color palette as well. Great use of the theme!

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

Had a lot of fun with this. Would love to see a timer to encourage players to compete. Sounds were excellent.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

Nice game. but why everybody use unity to create gmes like this? is this useful?

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

Aw man.. Really looked interesting... Wish they'd get a unity web player for Linux working already..

uRLgR3y says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

This game has just right level of frustration I love. Really enjoyed this. Thanks for making this!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

wooow this was very good! i really enjoyed this one. very creative, nice colors. and after a while i realised that it wasnt a weird robot with a cool hat. XD nice entry!

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21am

This ended up being one of my favorites so far. The controls took some getting used to but I thought the mechanics were really clever. Very cool, you should be proud of this.

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21am

Not sure I would say a good use of the theme, but in all other respects this is outstanding. The music and controls are great and I enjoyed how the level direction changed and the final twists in the last level.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26am

Funny use of theme, and nice art too. Plus some rockin chiptunes. The levels get really hard.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27am

Awesome concept for You Only Get One! Love the gameplay, the graphics, and the music very much. Awesome job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Excellent music and wonderful retro styling.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35am

I like game but controls are unadepted for a portable computer

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:21am

Wow, I loved this!

The two button system using the mouse was well implemented and controlled nicely, the graphics and sound were simple but effective and the way it switches between running and falling (including that one mid-level!) is very cool.

I managed to get all of the items and despite the trial and error nature of some of the levels, they were still well designed and fun to play. Difficulty and length were just right to be a good challenge.

Really good stuff!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:21am

That was surprisingly fun! The controls were smooth and I liked how you had to make sure you took the right path since you couldn't back-track. It was a bit frustrating at times though. Was it really intentional to kill you if you pressed both mouse buttons at the same time? If not the it was probably a bug and a quite annoying one :/. You should see if you can't fix that.

madlee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:27am

Really cool, and surprisingly challenging. Well done!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:56am

Extremely fun game! Cracked up when i saw that "You're the one" is the character's definition.

spx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:47am

The game is unforgiving when trying to jump off directly at the end of a platform but overall the parts fit together really well. Interesting visuals+audio.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:54am

Really nice game! I love almost everything of the game, the speed, the sound track, and old style graphic. Well done.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Funniest take on the theme I have seen so far. This music is so great. It's way to hard for me though, I tried the third level like a billion times and still couldn't finish it.

Had I had something like this on my Sega back in the day, it would have kept me awake for hours trying to beat it! Great job!

Parasyte says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:35am

The mouse controls on this one really made me happy! Very refreshing take on control schemes. The challenge is pretty high here, with a lot of traps to fall into. Excellent music, as well!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Very nicely done, the input felt satisfying and the jumping felt very good, which is rare in all the submissions i've played. very good.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Enjoyable entry, nice job. :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:16am

Lovely game, liked almost all of it. The only annoying part was when left mousebutton changed from moving right to moving left confused me every time. Jumping could be a little slower also to make some of the harder jumps more easily doable.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:37am

I got to the third level but I think it's too slow on my computer, because the controls seem really laggy, and I'm not even close to being able to do those precise jumps. Is it possible it's even getting slower each time I die? But, good concept!

sykotomy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:29am

This was pretty cool. I liked how you carried the theme through out the game that was clever.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:53am

Really liked this. Hard, interesting use of theme, and overall well-made. Good stuff.

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I liked it, a bit too frustrating, but not that much.
I still can't figure out what the character is supposed to be, but that's fine, he'll be a robot-backward-ninja in my heart. :)
I had some issues with the controls (some undesired restarts) but I was mostly impressed with the use of the mouse for a platformer!

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

Love the music!

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Really fun to play. I love the idea. The control was quite difficult for me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]