December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Apocalypse

by tgnass - Jam Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare.

You have one life, how many zombies can you kill before you die?

When you die, press R to restart the level.

I hope you enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1678Coolness14%

Comments

Mocuto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47am

Pretty fun. The instructions could've been more explicit. For example, the controls didn't mention how to shoot enemies. The game runs smoothly, character movement isn't rigid, the sprites look nice enough. One problem I encountered was that when I would lose, there'd be no option to go back to the main menu. Maybe this is an OS/X-specific problem ,but it this issue really is a bummer. I'd probably kill a good bit of my time on this game if I didn't have to reopen the application every time I lost.

tgnass says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51am

Sorry, press Q to quit back to the menu

mclordalex says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29am

Can get pasted round 4 to hard but it was pretty fun I guess but I would lessen up the zombies on round 4

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:54pm

It got crazy hard pretty quick but I enjoyed the first few levels! :D It was a bit touch on my index finger as I had to click furiously to kill some waves, but other than than it was well executed!

bsowers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:52am

Would tweak the controls - it was odd that you used the mouse to shoot, but you weren't using the mouse to aim, and the character always shot forward. Would either use a key to shoot or have the character shoot in the direction of the mouse.

goteambob says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Got very tough quickly and my finger ached, once the zombies got near you it was pretty much impossible to hit them as you just kept bouncing off, still, a nice fast paced game.

atombrot says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:16pm

A fun short little game, but very simple. I found it a bit strange, that you control the player via keyboard but had to shoot with the mouse (and you even can't look around with the mouse).

Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:53pm

That's a really nice game, I had a lot of fun ! Congratulations :)

Kid1227 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Nice game, but it could have been better with some actual level/enemy design. Works well as a framework for a cool zombie game, but doesn't feel like much more than a quick-time event. Still, I had a little fun with it, good job.

tgnass says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Thanks guys! :)

Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Good job! I do like it! I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to have a look :) http://youtu.be/fAaMjCotTMM

tgnass says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:05am

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it. Check out my channel if you want too: https://www.youtube.com/user/CentauriStudio

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:10am

Great job on a first entry. Simple gameplay but you made a game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]