December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Lose It!

by OneDee - Jam Entry

You Only Get One...

So DON"T LOSE IT !

Our hero is charged to bring a precious package safely to the end.

Enemies only see the package when you drop it. Scramble to get it back before they do.

Its harder than you think!

Hope you enjoy it! Happy Holidays!



"Lost Frontier" by the amazing Kevin McLeod.




W,S,A,D or Arrow Keys to move, jump

ESC to reset if you get stuck

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#70Theme(Jam)3.50
#106Mood(Jam)3.45
#159Fun(Jam)3.17
#169Overall(Jam)3.31
#174Audio(Jam)3.18
#234Innovation(Jam)2.95
#296Graphics(Jam)3.12
#401Humor(Jam)1.83

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25am

Great gameplay. It was very fun, and nerve-wracking to play.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Oddly sinister atmosphere!

lilinx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I like this very much! The first time I lost it it felt so bad! And these red stars threatening to come down to take it from me! And the colors... and this glowing thing I'm holding in my mouth (at least I guess so). And the audio. Well done.

OneDee says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Thanks guys! Was a great first LD, glad I gave it a shot :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Thanks for bringing me to this game! I loved it! I can totally see what you meant with how the idea is similar to ours :). I loved the ending, totally went "aaaaaaaw" loudly when I saw it :).

One suggestion: make more enemies! It was a tad bit too easy.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Nice game. The music was nice and calming, and the concept was pretty cool. There were one or two issues with the physics though.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:25pm

great atmosphere, cool music, great game! feals complete :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Kind of liked it until the slopes appeared. Controling the character in the slopes is way too difficult. Kind of funny that you can still run to the tree and win even without your present.

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Oops! That bit was broken .Fixed it thanks. Oh don't sweat the slopes, if you drop it the package, it'll come bouncing after you and you can grab it in time!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I really liked the idea , well made

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:41pm

really cool atmosphere, but jumping could be a bit more responsive.

Ditto says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:41pm

So moody, I'd love some animations on the maincharacter, but otherwise this is a damn beautiful game! The sound effects the enemies make are scary as hell! Great job!

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:31pm

haha, what a great game mechanic! I love how the package bounces and you have to scramble for it package while the enemies home in.
The mood is great too. Very good use of package and sound.
There is a bug. At one point I just got the package at the last moment, but became invisble. I anly became visibel again after I died.

henrykun says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:13am

Beautiful graphics, nice gameplay, well done!.

_zulli says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:16am

Really well done. The particles and lighting worked so well with the atmosphere. Awesome design. I woudl only add a background even a simple one to make it even cooler.
Talking about mechanics, really cool idea. It gets harder and really challenging. Good job :D


If you have time please rate my game :)

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:15pm

some moments where controls were not as responsive as desired but very atmospheric and sinister feeling. Good job!

nka says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Lovely colors and kind of unexpected ending :D

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:02am

Interesting use of the theme, challenging, and polished. Excellent job!

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:40am

I actually found this incredibly enjoyable, good job mate. I'll admit I panicked a few times when I dropped it though, hahah.

OneDee says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:42am

Thanks everyone appreciate the comments and critique. A happy and joyous holiday to you all!

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Failed to pass it as it should be done, but found a bug. If package is outside the screen they can't get it. I lost it near a slope and fell down, as a result I passed the game lol :D

Anyways, well done, can't say that it uses theme in clever way but otherwise fun game with nice graphics and sounds!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:22pm

This was absolutely fun to play. I really loved how frantic everything becomes when you suddenly lose your package and the audio created a really amazing atmosphere.

supremefist says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I once made it to the end without the package and won :)

Nice game! Thanks!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Cute entry, really liked the idea of moving slow and careful as to not drop the present and make the enemies chase it. Well done. :)

havana24 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice atmosphere! :)

pLaw says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice game. However, you can circumvent the whole gameplay, by losing your package at the beginning and just running to the end. The ending doesn't require you to have the package with you. Maybe you should fix that.

OneDee says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:16am

Ah I realize now that in the event the enemies quash together on the package. Their colliding with each other prevents any of them from winning! ahaha.. this is fixed now.

They can now win even off screen and you'll have to bring the package home for sure to win as well.

Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]