December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eggcited

by intelligentbean - Jam Entry

My Idea was to have a creature that only has one chance of having a baby. The creature has an egg and you have to keep it from breaking.

The original idea was to have the game only playable once and any time you came back to play again you would just see the creature there looking sad because it lost it's egg. Although I still like that idea it wasn't very fun. So I decided to add a reset button so you can play again.

The game turned into an infinite running game even though that wasn't my original intention. There isn't really an ending to the game. It just goes on forever. Maybe I will come back later and add an ending where the egg hatches.

All of the assets in the game were made by me except for the music. I got the main song from this post on reddit:
http://www.reddit.com/r/ludumdare/comments/1supfy/looking_for_background_music_for_ld28_game_jams_i/

by abstraction on sound cloud. you can see more of their work here:
https://soundcloud.com/abstraction


*this game requires java

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#51Humor(Jam)3.56
#74Theme(Jam)3.49
#152Audio(Jam)3.26
#178Graphics(Jam)3.57
#188Overall(Jam)3.26
#198Fun(Jam)3.06
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#295Mood(Jam)2.83

Comments

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58am

Well, I completely suck at this. No wonder Dodo is extinct.. :-D Graphically it's nice, I like this simple style (only these spikes - they shouldn't be opaque). The game seems also memory hungry when the reset is clicked few times - probably some leak.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

This is the only game I rated this high! I caan keep this playing forever! I suck at this game... but I love everything of it! Except the file size, of course. Here's the HTML code for a web-version:
<applet code="com.intelligentbeans.dare.Main" archive="eggcited.jar" width="1024" height="640"></applet>

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Nice! The graphics made me smile haha

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Wow, this one is really fun. Is it intentional that the creature is running all the way over on the right side of the window? It is almost impossible to see obstacles early enough, quite frustrating. (NOTE: I just played again and maximized the window, now she is running roughly in the center, you might want to check your geometry or start the window maximized).

But all in all, the gameplay is really smooth and fun, the graphics are some of the nicest I have seen in the compo so far and the music matches the theme very nicely.

One of the best games in the compo!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Wow, that was so hard! But the graphics were so cool, haha. I loved it. The music was amazing.

bttf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I couldn't get too far! But very nice graphics, cool music. I laughed out loud when I saw the characters face after dropping the egg. Nice job

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I love his face when he is looking sad.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Great graphics and fun gameplay! It's nice how much time that's spent on the animations! :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:30pm

A fun concept, I really like the graphics. My main problem with this is that the camera is too far zoomed in so you can't see the obstacles coming.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Charming game, though I would have liked it if you could look farther ahead.

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39pm

This is really good!! And really nice music as well. :) I love the look on its face when I drop the egg..

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Love the graphics, incredibly cute!
I found it a little to hard, but that's probably just me sucking! :P

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50pm

A Fun little game, its quite difficult, but can be rewarding when you make a jump without dropping the egg. Also I really like the concept, you did something other than "You only get one life" or "you only get one bullet", nice work!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

:D O
:C .o.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

I sucked at it, hehehe. But I got the idea, and it's nice. I think it could be nicer to have a bigger fov for the camera, so we can see more of the screen and therefore of the egg when it is flying. Most of reasons why it's so difficult is because you can really see the egg, and handling the acceleration it's already a fine mechanic to keep the game fun.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Fun way to pass the time, nice audio (:

Tomski says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Awwww, his face when the egg breaks :(

Nice and fun game, I failed pretty hard though.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:06pm

The game is fun as it is, since it is quite hard too keep the egg, but you might want to double check the hitboxes and eggdropping mechanics, since it feels a little bit frustrating instead of challenging. I would think about either fixing the eggs x-coordinate to the player or give the player more movement options, to make it easier to recatch the egg.
Besides that, the graphics are quite simple, but really awesome! They fit really wel in my opinion :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:09pm

It was fun and funny only cause of the bugs but it was fun cause it was a fun game it a nice try and a nice effort great music too.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Fun game, but very difficult! Poor little egg!

Enneract says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I loved this. The character's face just makes it. Hard but that makes it addictive.

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:07pm

It's a funny game but so hard for me :D

hadesfury says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I tried it on android, it's really hard! I managed to jump over a few obstacles after many tries. I like a lot the expressions of the little dude!
One nice thing, you didn't forget to have a clean way to exit on android!

Moosefly says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Like others have mentioned, carrying the egg is quite tricky! Interesting twist to the infinite-runner-genre, would've liked more freedom in the movement though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]