December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Wizard's Quest

by zebi24 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a story about a brave Wizard, who went on a dangerous quest to get a Double Hat (everybody knows that Double Hats are overpowered!). On a journey he has to defeat lots of dangerous creatures and even God himself...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#62Humor3.65
#299Theme3.23
#383Fun3.02
#414Mood2.89
#488Overall3.02
#515Graphics2.91
#654Audio2.11
#873Innovation2.22

Comments

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Haha, love the idea of a double hat! And even though I didn't finish it (it's haaard) love the screenshot of the wizard in the double hat :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:30pm

After dieing the third time the Game Over Screen did not show up. Great Job. It was cute.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Gameplay is simple, and it could definitely do with a life meter of some sort, but it's fun and has a very pleasing art style and story. Needs a door sprite, walking into a wall didn't make much sense. AI is basic, but it works, perhaps consider using RAIN pathfinding. Next time make sure to give the text a black outline so we can see it over most of the game.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:03pm

@BraindeadGeo: Awesome! I got the idea at 4 AM in half sleep and I found it crazy enought to use it :D And yeah, it is kind of hard :D Tnx!

@ LastResortGames: Thank you! I was aware of that bug but I thought I fixed it... I guess I thought wrong... :/

@ Udell Games: Thanks bro! All of your comments are on very solid ground. I would fix this things if I had more time for sure. :)

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Good stuff!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Reminds me of gauntlet .. good memories ..

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Cool story dude, loved the art style

LevelUpJordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

I love the wizard character, he looks like something out of South Park :P Anyway, congrats. It's pretty fun

scottrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I beat it! Nice work :)

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I like that I couldn't just rush through it, because I would bump into an enemy. So I had to steadily move forward, which was nice.
Gameplaywise it could be a bit more versatile in my opinion.
The double hat was cool ;)

ObsidianSkin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I liked it. It was pretty difficult, but the idea of a Double Hat was to alluring to just pass up.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Thanks everyone for your awesome comments! :))

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23am

Wow I really enjoyed this!!! I very much enjoyed the controls, and for how simple they are they were pretty unique. It was surprisingly difficult too.

I had to use the downloadable version because in the web version I could only move Left? Chrome - OSX 10.8.5 I reloaded a few times, but that doesn't make much sense given it's unity and it worked in the standalone. In any case nice job!

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:40am

Nice, runs smoothly and is about Wizards and their Hats so that's worth extra. ;D I wish I was better at it so I could make it to the boss -- maybe I'll give it another shot sometime.

The explosions are pretty, though the fireball noise began to wear its welcome thin after about 500 shots =P

My only other suggestions are: being able to shoot diagonally, and being able to zoom out a little bit more (since when I died it was usually from things emerging from the top of the screen before I had time to react...but maybe that's how it's supposed to be and I am just a slow, old man).

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22pm

really funny concept and graphics. unfortunatley I didn't get how to destroy the boss. :(

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Really nice use of theme! It was a bit hard to hit the enemies but it was satisfying when you did. :) Now I want a double hat :)

smash ball says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04pm

The sound got a bit repetitive, but I liked the game.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:27pm

@zconnelly13 : thanks man, glad you liked it! No idea what went wrong with web version, nobody else reported that problem... good thing I uploaded downloadable version also :)

@Berzee & smash ball : sory about the sound, it is definitely a thing I am least proud of... will make sure it's better next time.

@ Berzee : Yeah, you have to be fast... zooming would be a nice addition but it would make the game a lot easier and that might take away some fun... hope you make it to the boss, he is also quite fun to beat ;)

@ broepi : Tnx! To defeat the boss you just have to hit him enough times without dying.

@ Hypnohustla : heh, thanks man! :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:35am

Nice usage of the theme!

Sylence says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:32am

Great idea :D
However it would be nice if one would not die with one hit.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:40am

Wao, exploding wizard. :p
Good little game you got here, would've preferred some health though.

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:51pm

This was fun :D. Not very captivating, but mindless fun none the less! Double hat ftw!

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:24am

ahaha this is incredible - really fun, I will recommend this entry! ;) Too bad you can only shoot in 4 directions

zebi24 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Thanks for your comments guys! :)

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Very nice take on the theme. The sound effect is too annoying to spam the attack button (which may be a good thing). It is hard to see things that appear on the top of the screen.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:32am

This game was pretty good, but the enemies were a little overpowered, I found. I got annoyed when I died about 6 times, especially when the respawn page didn't work, but I still played until the end.

Also the sound effects were really loud! Ah!

The graphics were kinda cute I guess. I don't know if the realistic looking explosion really fit with the rest of it though. It would've looked better if the explosion was bigger for the larger enemies.

I liked the way the magic spells came out of the actual point on your staff until I realised it left me with a massive weakness against enemies attacking from below.

Good interpretation of the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]